We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tender smoked meat!”

Hungry Bear BBQ # 1
Ranked #44 of 197 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great tender smoked meat!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Just ate at the Hungry Bear. We really enjoyed the food. The prices were fair and the meat was tender and delicious. The 3 homemade sauces were great to have at the table. We loved that it was a little outside of the strip. So easy to park and eat! We would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gfource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    208
    84
    33
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nola
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“omg, the worst”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

we were with a group of four others. some of them cosidered themselves true barbeque experts. they had heard of bear's and we were glad to go along. it was possibly the worst food i've ever payed for in my life. the meats were tolerable but the sides belonged in the trash.how can you screw up mac and cheese? the veggies were even worse. i feel bad about being so negative but i really can't say anything nice about it. the "experts" apologized, although it wasn't really their fault. they had heard good things - but none of us will be back..

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank williamNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Food and portions were fantastic. Great value and really friendly. Casey was the best! Ribs and cole slaw tops. BBQ sauces also excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ate there twice in 2 days”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a solid choice if you are looking for BBQ. We ate there twice in two days. I preferred their pork to their brisket and sausage. Mac and cheese was pretty good and a hit with the kids. I would go back again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rich3315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best ribs I've ever had!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hands down the best ribs this FL girl has ever had! Fall off the bone, tender, bone suckin goodness! Great sweet and mild homemade BBQ sauces to accompany! We ate at Bennett's and the ribs and pulled pork were way better here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FLgirl0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Bear BBQ # 1 also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Hungry Bear BBQ # 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing