We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good bbq”

Hungry Bear BBQ # 1
Ranked #39 of 195 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really good bbq”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Really good bbq! You can choose hot, mild, or sweet bbq sauce. I tried mild and sweet and liked both really well. Good size portions, very good value. Family members had a variety of different items and we were all happy with our food. Nothing fancy, but really good bbq!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jolie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    200
    78
    32
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, MI
Level Contributor
140 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Drive to the one outside of town...it's worth the trip!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm a very tough critic of Barbecue restaurants. My standards are Arthur Bryant's at the original location on Brooklyn in Kansas City. KC Masterpiece in Overland Park, KS. Gates & Son for ribs. Jack Stack BBQ. The brisket was better than Arthur Bryant's -- I didn't think that was possible. The pork ribs were better than Gates. They offer 3 sauces...Mild, Hot, and Sweet. They were all good. The meat was all tender and lean, yet very juicy and moist -- not dried out or oversmoked. Don't bother with the sides...they don't have fries and their potato salad and other sides are just okay. The rolls were good and fresh. Don't order sides, just get the good stuff -- best barbeque I've had in years.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A must stop lunch event.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We eat here at least twice when we are on vacation. We get the full dinner and take it back to the cabin. Ribs, brisket, pulled pork, all excellent. The potato salad is great as well. Then we do a picnic lunch in Greenbrier. Two pulled pork sandwiches, more of that excellent potato salad, and we are good to go. Great barbeque, great prices, great location (right at the entrance to the Greenbrier section of the Great Smokey Mountains National Park).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good lunch before hiking!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wanted to eat something before going hiking along Ramsey Cascades and the Greenbrier area. Excellent location and choice. Pork barbque sandwiches were excellent, good selection of barbque sauces. Nice menu and specials.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stopped here after a day in the Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg area. We wanted something that we could take back to our condo with us, so I thought we could try this place out since I read such good reviews on here. It did not disappoint we got half of a chicken and 2 special dinners for 5 of us. The chicken was really good and so were the ribs and sausage and pulled pork, the sides are small but I don't really care about the sides so it didn't bother me. The BBQ sauce was good also. The service was fast and friendly too. I recommend this place if you are looking for some good BBQ.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sdoofor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Bear BBQ # 1 also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Hungry Bear BBQ # 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing