We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riding in the Great Smokies”

Sugarland Riding Stables
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Riding in the Great Smokies”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Took the 1.5 trail ride. Staff friendly and accommodating. Horses appeared to be well cared for, hooves trimmed and shod. Very enjoyable ride. Guide was excellent. Pictures taken for purchase if so desired. Would go again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank reynard0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    121
    35
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Riding through God's Nature Trail”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great riding experience (with the sight of a young cub)! Loved the peacefulness and beauty. Guide Calvin was very personable and engaging with conversation...thanks! Clean and well-run facility with great staff.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice facility and good time”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Like all the venues here, I believe it's important to match your expectations and what one is looking for with the facilty. What we liked is we asked if our 6 & 9yr old would be on their own horse as it's by far more safe. The answer was yes. We wanted no trotting or running and this is strictly a walking tour up the mountainside.

First, the facility was very clean and the people very, very nice. The young lady taking photos was great and even gave us great tips on where to go to see bears that day and we did!! a HUGE one too! Bonus for us.

The horse guides were very friendly and funny and treated our kids like their own. They strapped a lead to our younger daughters horse "just in case" but I believe them and their touting one of the safest records in town. They did take care with most every detail.

The only downside to the ride is that you're single file and the guide is ahead of you so you can't always get invovled in the discussion if you're in the rear. However, that's competely understandable and the idea of the ride is peaceful relaxation through some very nice country side.

Our kids loved the ride and weren't at all afraid. Mom and dad enjoyed it too. Lasts about 1hr which is more than enough if you're not used to riding.

Overall, thanks to all for a wonderful few hours of time and the best part is they gave us all 25 photos on a CD in high resoution for use as we wish for a very fair price of like $25 if I recall correctly.

Thanks again!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pdqgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great riding experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We went this morning and though there were just 4 of us there from the 90 minute ride, they till took us out. Guide was friendly, kept a good eye on all the horses, and especially on my youngest who is 8. Great ride with great views, up and down the mountain and stream crossings.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“loved the horses and the guide”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great trip throw the mountains. The horses were nice and had fun with our guide. Pretty smelly but that is horses

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarland Riding Stables also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Sugarland Riding Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing