We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!!!”

Review of Fox Hollow Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Gatlinburg, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MishraS12...
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Cabin but Terrible Customer Service....”
Reviewed July 16, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with extended family for 4 days. Picked the cabin at DeerRidge road .
Access to this cabin is treacherous with mountainous roads.
A summer storm in this area a day after our stay knocked out power.
No water without power. Toilets did not work.
Contacted the manager and was told that crews are working on the power and should be back shortly.
It never came back that night. Had to spend the entire night on a survival mode.
Contacted the Manager in the morning and Tim did not offer to move us to another location.
It was all on us. We were really annoyed since he did not offer any help with water or anything.
No apologies for the incovenience, on the contrary he said to pack our sh** and leave.
Extremely rude and unprofessional. Went out and used nearby McDonald to freshen up.
Then went around Gatlinburg and Piegn Forge. Contacted the property manager in the afternoon,
if they have another location with power and they moved to the one Shangrilla way.
This one is a better location.

I am sure you can get good cabin without dealing with Tim and his rudeness.
Will comeback to another location, but not to this property. Stay away from this property management.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2012
First I would Like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay at Fox Hollow Lodge. As you stated we did have a major storm during your stay and the power was out to over 25,000 homes in the area including my personal home so I know first hand how inconvenient this can be. The power company did everything they could to restore power as soon as possible . The power was restored in our Attitude Adjustment chalet before it was restored at Fox Hollow Lodge so we tried to accommodate you by moving you to this chalet for the remainder of your vacation. However you demanded that we not only move you to Attitude Adjustment but also refund all of your money. When you were informed that we could not do both you threatened to get on Flipkey and give us a bad review which you now have done.
As the owner of Smoky Mountain Chalet Rentals I would never use profanity or speak to our guest in an inappropriate way. Without our guest we have no business. We do everything we can to accommodate everyone, however we can not control the weather and moving you to an equal or better chalet was a reasonable solution to this problem. Look at the over 50 positive reviews we have from other guests, including 5 reviews from guest that have stayed at Fox Hollow Lodge and you can see no one else had any problems with the roads to Fox Hollow Lodge or with management.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonburg
Reviewed July 7, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ocruisers
Reno
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Away from it all in the Smoky Mountains”
Reviewed December 2, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Fox Hollow is an interesting 6 bedroom/6.5 bath house on three levels at the top of a mountain. It's very secluded, with only a few neighbors further down the road, and the surrounding terrain is lovely. About 15 minutes to downtown Gatlinburg and, going the other way, about 30 minutes to downtown Sevierville. There's parking for several cars with easy ingress/egress and there's a great porch that almost totally surrounds the house with a multi-person hot tub, grill and multiple chairs. Very safe, quiet and private.

Interior features: functional kitchen with a good supply of pots and pans, plates, glasses and flatware. Two dining tables can be put together for one big table or arranged separately. 12 chairs and 4 "bar chairs". There are 2 bedrooms and a gathering area with TV on each floor . The lower level also has a pool table and foosball. All bedrooms have their own bath: main floor baths have a large shower and a separate jetted tub. The upstairs baths have showers only and the lower level baths have jetted tubs only. On the main level there's also a half bath. Beds are comfortable with newer mattresses; pillows are overly plump. Thermostats on each level and fans. When we arrived the lights had been turned on and the heat set to a warmer temp, making it very welcoming. With 12 occupants, we never ran out of hot water. There's cable TV, but no internet.

Linens and towels were adequately supplied. The quality isn't stellar, but was OK. Minimal toilet paper, one small soap/bathroom, no hair dryers, no kitchen paper products. We wished for a broom and dustpan or a mop, but had neither. A few kitchen towels were provided, along with two hot pads.

We had a comfortable 4 day stay and encountered no problems with the property. We did, however, have some stress over the reservations when the contract provided by the rental company incorrectly recorded the deposit and repeated requests for a corrected contract went unheeded. The final stress point came at the time the balance of the deposit was charged to our credit card, as it was an amount in excess of the originally contracted amount. When we questioned the difference, the rental company immediately responded that they were refunding all our money and we should find a different rental. This was 3.5 weeks before Thanksgiving (the rental agreement had been drawn up in July), an unlikely time to be finding an available rental in the Gatlinburg area for 12 people. Eventually we got it worked out, but we were all a little anxious about flying cross-country and discovering we didn't have a place to stay. All in all, we would recommend Fox Hollow as a rental, but would suggest potential renters exercise caution in renting from Smoky Mountain Chalet Rentals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very private location
Liked least: Contract uncertainities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Fox Hollow Lodge. We are sorry to hear that you experienced any problems during your stay. I wish you would have let us know there was no broom, dustpan or mop we would have had them brought right out to you. As for the soap, and paper products we do provide some but it is only a starter supply. We are sorry there wasn't enough for your entire stay. When you notified us of your concern on the deposit amounts we immediately responded by e-mail with an explanation of all charges, however that did not get to you in a timely manner and for that I do apologize. I contacted you by telephone with a full explanation of all charges and you did agree that they were correct. We only offered to give you a refund as an option for your satisfaction. Again I apologize if you were caused any undue stress. I was happy to hear that you would recommend Fox Hollow Lodge and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ky
Reviewed September 28, 2011 for a stay in October 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris L
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great value, secluded, comfortable.”
Reviewed February 6, 2011 for a stay in February 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Our group spent 3 nights at Fox Hollow Lodge. We had 6 couples, no kids. This chalet was nice and we might return again next year. First, the good. This chalet is very secluded. No neighbors so you can sit on the deck or in the hot tub and not hear everything that's going on next door. Satellite TV throughout the chalet was good. The large TVs were awesome. Good for a large group. Comfortable. Pool table and foosball table in the game room. Every room had its own bathroom. Plenty of parking. Washer, dryer, dishwasher. The loft above the kitchen was great for movie watching. Easy reservation system and good communication from the rental company. Now for the "could be better" list.

The chalet does not appear "brand new" as the listing says. It's not old, but it is showing signs of wear. Cracked kitchen tiles, worn out coffee maker, and the fake ivy is pretty dusty. It could use a "deep clean". Some of the faucets were a bit tricky and it was hard to get hot water in one of the showers. It's a dark chalet with weird lighting. The one thing that was really odd was that while all the bedrooms had bathrooms, the 2 downstairs bathrooms didn't have showers so we had to share showers. The 2 upstairs bedrooms didn't have televisions. Probably not suitable for someone with disabilities. We've been renting 5-6 bedroom chalets in the Gatlinburg area for about 10 years now and this was by far the least expensive.

The reason I rated cleanliness as "4" was because of the need for a deep clean, dusty fake plants, old coffee maker, tricky faucets. The reason I rated comfort as a "4" was because of the inconvenience of sharing showers and no extra toilet paper.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Reviewed November 4, 2010 for a stay in October 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing