We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tasting, prices high”

Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.98*
and up
Day Tour: Moonshine and Wine Tasting from Gatlinburg
Ranked #4 of 109 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Ole Smoky is the first federally licensed moonshine distillery in the state of Tennessee. A visit to Ole Smoky is the true moonshine experience. As you approach the entrance, you can detect the distinct smell of our grains cooking and fermenting. You'll see authentic working moonshine stills and experience the process from beginning to end. Our distillers will take the time to visit with you and answer any questions about the history and lore of moonshining in East Tennessee.After you see, smell and hear about the process, we offer tastings of our Award winning shine! Samples of our Original Unaged Corn Whiskey, White Lightnin' and Moonshine Cherries as well as Apple Pie and Blackberry flavors - plus we offer seasonal and special flavors that aren't available in package stores. And of course, you'll be able to buy plenty of moonshine and Ole Smoky merchandise to take home with you.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Mississippi Gulf Coast, Mississippi
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great tasting, prices high”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I had heard great things about this moonshine from coworkers. It was just ok. I didn't end up buying any, the price wasn't worth it for me. The tasting was fun. Definitely worth a quick stop, took about 15 minutes.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tosha25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,921
    1,084
    359
    82
    55
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsland, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“tasty”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

the moonshine is good, sales folks were nice, atmosphere was great, ... set up to handle large crowds? not at all. Area was very difficult to navigate and nothing really "flowed"

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GAgirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good time, nice people.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

You can get a good buzz going in Gatlinburg for free. Sample all the stores you can but spend most of your time here. They have plenty of items to buy from the booze to pickled green beans. They have an excellent selection of locally made jams and canned veggies. Bring your ID and line up for the taste testing of all their kinds of "moonshine." Legal moonshine is nothing great. It isn't strong, it tastes (and probably is) like whiskey before it's aged in the barrels. So straight legal moonshine tastes like rubbing alcohol. The good news is this place infuses it with other things like pineapple or blueberry. Try them all, then ask for samples of blueberry pie or other like that. That's when they mix the flavors together to give you something new. In the meantime, you're getting to taste more and more booze for free. The people are friendly though so don't be a jerk about getting more free booze.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jkells_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Free Shine”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere was great. We visited on two different days and wow the difference a day makes. Our first visit was on a Friday it was not busy at all, making for a fun visit. We stopped in again on Saturday once the rest of the group arrived in town and you could not move in there. Sadly making for a less entertaining visit as people smashed and pushed one another trying to get at the counter for their tasting. I cannot imagine the craziness in peak season, we went in February !! Flip side ... Staff is great !!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank aliciajo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“unexpected pleasure”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

very friendly staff in a fun atmosphere with free samples of about a dozen flavors of moonshine. didn't expect it to be so yummy!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jpaweleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine also viewed

 
 

Been to Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing