We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass by and try some moonshine!”

Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.98*
and up
Day Tour: Moonshine and Wine Tasting from Gatlinburg
Ranked #4 of 109 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Ole Smoky is the first federally licensed moonshine distillery in the state of Tennessee. A visit to Ole Smoky is the true moonshine experience. As you approach the entrance, you can detect the distinct smell of our grains cooking and fermenting. You'll see authentic working moonshine stills and experience the process from beginning to end. Our distillers will take the time to visit with you and answer any questions about the history and lore of moonshining in East Tennessee.After you see, smell and hear about the process, we offer tastings of our Award winning shine! Samples of our Original Unaged Corn Whiskey, White Lightnin' and Moonshine Cherries as well as Apple Pie and Blackberry flavors - plus we offer seasonal and special flavors that aren't available in package stores. And of course, you'll be able to buy plenty of moonshine and Ole Smoky merchandise to take home with you.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pass by and try some moonshine!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

this was an experience!
never had moonshine before they had 13 kinds and went through all of them with a quick pleasant presentation and sampled them all!
outside in the courtyard there was a family friendly entertaining musical production
very nice spots for a couple hours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank badrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,919
    1,084
    358
    82
    55
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So fun!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We visited this distillery today and thoroughly enjoyed it. There was a street fair going on with free kettle corn and live music. They offer free "tours" which is an outdoor self guided walk along a screened in brew house. The gift shop offers free tastings of every product they carry. The moonshine was delicious but the salsa and BBQ sauce were amazing! It's a must see in Gatlinburg.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeghanAshley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Here's your chance to haul moonshine out of the TN mountains”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had a band playing bluegrass with a lot of rocking chairs to sit in. Fun place for all ages. but especially those old enough to sample moonshine. The are very generous and allow you to sample about 8 or 9 flavors. After the first two which are 100 proof you stop counting. They have very creative flavors which are delicious. My wife who drinks only wine enjoyed the tasting The best deal is to purchase 3 quarts since you get a discount. We bought ours and I plan to make my first moonshine run. I will go back, this is a great place and it is made right there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rwashnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Vienna, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Staff for the taste testing was fabulous. You get a chance to taste all flavors and had lots of fun. You can also see the moonshine distillery where they mix the mash and start the fermentation process. I am a big fan of the Moonshine TV shows so it peaked my interest to see it in person.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Badge16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoolcraft, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Who Knew Moonshine Was So GOOD!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband sampled everything and we bought 3 different flavors. Our favorite is the Blackberry. Goes down smooth!

Live music was playing while we were sampling. Great band!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine also viewed

 
 

Been to Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing