We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“White Lighting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine

Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine
Ranked #4 of 108 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Ole Smoky is the first federally licensed moonshine distillery in the state of Tennessee. A visit to Ole Smoky is the true moonshine experience. As you approach the entrance, you can detect the distinct smell of our grains cooking and fermenting. You'll see authentic working moonshine stills and experience the process from beginning to end. Our distillers will take the time to visit with you and answer any questions about the history and lore of moonshining in East Tennessee.After you see, smell and hear about the process, we offer tastings of our Award winning shine! Samples of our Original Unaged Corn Whiskey, White Lightnin' and Moonshine Cherries as well as Apple Pie and Blackberry flavors - plus we offer seasonal and special flavors that aren't available in package stores. And of course, you'll be able to buy plenty of moonshine and Ole Smoky merchandise to take home with you.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“White Lighting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great place to check out while in Gatlinburg. Apple pie is the bomb. The free moonshine tasting is worth the wait if not for the rude people trying to cut in front of you. The bartenders do a pretty good job of putting those people in their place like back in line. A must do

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,673
    1,041
    332
    76
    47
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loelschlag
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting to Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Liked the free tasting so we could determine which flavors we wanted to buy. Good band outside and chairs for folks to sit in while listening to the band.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LOelschlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Indiana
Level Contributor
233 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“What Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My brother in law and I went through the routine of tasting every drink they had, what a blast. We were there on a Friday night with a very small wait.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry6004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yikes!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

They give you 12 samples of Moonshine! Its expensive as I can get the same thing from the same distillery at Walmart for cheaper price!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vacationlifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Shine Responsibly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Moonshine Distillery was lots of fun. It was a real first for us having never seen a Moonshine distillery before. They had a fellow outside singing Rocky Top! The tour was very interesting and fellow giving the tour was very knowledgeable. They give you a variety of samples to try after the tour! Of course we purchased a few bottles to take back to Pennsylvania.We also purchased some Moonshine Jam which was delicious. We had never tasted Moonshine so it really was fun. The gift store had all kinds of fun things and we each bought a sweatshirt that said, "Shine Responsibly" on it. A great tour! I have even ordered from their catalog since returning to Pennsylvania. You will enjoy this tour!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoveBroadway22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ole Smoky Tennessee Moonshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing