We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun store”
Review of NOC Gatlinburg

NOC Gatlinburg
Ranked #7 of 135 Shopping in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: NOC’s 18,000 square-foot flagship store sits at the downtown Gatlinburg entrance to Great Smoky Mountains National Park. NOC Gatlinburg carries everything necessary to enjoy excursions into the Smokies including our signature “gifts, gear and guidance.” The in-store shopping experience is unique and fun, boasting a swinging rope bridge, a kid-friendly bear cave and a giant fireplace for warming up on cool days. We also help guests plan whitewater rafting and other guided Smokies outdoor adventures in-store.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun store”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Fun store. Nice staff. Very informative. Not expensive. My daughters loved the bridge and Rick climbing. Can't rock climb at home for $5.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank amosfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    51
    10
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our favorite shopping stop in Gatlinburg”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I can't see how anyone could give this store less than 4 stars. Reviewers that complain about price obviously do not shop for high quality, functional adventure gear. NOC has a huge selection of gear, shoes and apparel for virtually any adventure you have planned. The cost for these items is always higher, no matter where you shop, so slapping a negative review on this store for providing the BEST products is unfair.

NOC has knowledgeable and helpful staff. We always leave with SOMETHING, whether a small snack for a hike or a piece of clothing we can't do without. This is our go-to shopping spot in the Smokies.

If you have kids, don't forget to check out the great selection for them and the "cave" area for them to play. Lots of fun!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank chilinobeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for gear”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband purchased a pair of Merrill hiking shoes for me here on our anniversary trip to Gatlinburg. The prices are reasonable for the merchandise offered and the facility is beautiful. The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to assist us.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome store and outfitter”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I imagine that the people who wrote the negative reviews are not outdoor enthusiasts and are not familiar with the brands sold in the store if they are complaining about price. I actually thought they were reasonably priced and had a lot of great brands and products but then again, we shop at rei when we are at home and are used to paying more for top notch quality (which matters if your buying something you actually plan on using longer than your weekend in the smokeys! If not, then go to Walmart for the love of god). We really enjoyed the store and everything is displayed so cutely is hard not to splurge. We didn't use the outfitter but would definitely do it in the future when the weather is better. There's also other locations in western north Carolina that are probably great also depending on what your looking for.

Helpful?
Thank Wantsgoodservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORWALK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good quality merchandise”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

They have a nice variety of outdoor clothing, shoes, and equipment. You could easily outfit a trip to the mountains. Much of their merchandise is professional quality and not inexpensive. Probably the most extensive selection of outdoor gear in the area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Swem8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NOC Gatlinburg also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to NOC Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing