We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family campground”
Review of Elkmont Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elkmont Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Tonica, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful family campground”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

What a great campground. Very friendly and knowledgable Ranger staff. Quiet and large camp sites. Even has a great tubing area in the campground . I've seen people fishing even though I've never tried it there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Heahter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    33
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
69
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here 3 days and I like it a lot. Some sites are level others not, spacing is OK/average. Plenty to do in the area. Dump station is a about a 10 mile drive down the road at the visitor center, Why? Bathrooms were pretty clean. The only thing about this parks campgrounds is the weird firewood rule, you pretty much have to purchase your wood there at the campground because if you bring any in they want to see a department of Forestry stamp on it, I have never seen any inspected and graded firewood and that includes the stuff they sell, but I guess if you buy there’s it is assumed to be good.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here early for 4 nights early May 2013. This was the perfect amount of time to see many of the sights the GSMNP has to offer, including Cades Cove, the Roaring Fork Motor Trail, Laurel Falls, and Clingman's Dome. The campground was quiet and peaceful - we had a site right on the river, in the B section, which we really enjoyed. The sites are fairly wooded, which can make it quite cool - we found that we needed sweatshirts most mornings. There are no showers as other people have mentioned, which didn't bother us, but it would have been nice after a long day of hiking, as the river was too cold to swim in.
Also, remember to bring cash or check to pay for your campsite, we paid $17/night. The restrooms were spotlessly clean, and the rangers I met were very friendly. Wood was $3.50 a bundle, I believe, at the camp store that was open from 4-8pm every day. They also offered ice, food, and other small camping items. Did I mention location? We were a 5 minute drive from the trailhead to Laurel Falls, 15-20 minutes to Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge, and within 45 minutes to Cades Cove and Clingman's Dome. Hands down one of the best campgrounds I have ever been to.

Room Tip: Sites along the river are very relaxing and peaceful. I did not see a bad site in the whole campgro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugarloaf10
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Love this campground! It was so quiet and peaceful, you really got the camping feeling there. No showers but we just waited until we left, no biggie. Sites were nice and shaded, we stayed in one of the walk in sites and loved the spaciousness since it gave our toddlers room to roam! We will definitely be going back next yr, weather was perfect in April.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarloaf10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Elkmont Campground is one of our favorite places to camp. The kids love to go tubing in the water which is very cold. The water is so loud that it seems like you are the only ones talking. Everyone is nice and pleasant. There are handicap sites and restrooms available. No showers so you are roughing it. In the summer it feels like it is 30 degrees cooler there because there are so many trees. You will feel like you are in a different world. You can hike to a cemetery and to a waterfall. You never have to leave.

Room Tip: Get a water front site so you can walk and put your feet in any time you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crystalm37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I camped here for four nights with my husband and our two daughters (ages 4 and 8). We tent-camped and the first night it poured, the second night it started out raining and turned to snow, and the last two nights were snowstorms! However, we rigged up tarps and made the best of it, and the kids had a great time having snowball fights and building snowmen. We camped in spot B3 and it was absolutely fantastic. River on one side and creek on the other! The sound of rushing water all night! We could not have picked a more beautiful spot. There was a pad to pitch our tents, a picnic table, and a fire ring. The cost was $17 per night - and note that it must be paid in cash (we had to run to an ATM in town). I believe it costs more during the high season. From 4 to 8 PM, they have a little store where they sell firewood, ice, and various camping items (marshmallows, hot dogs, charcoal, etc.). They accept cards for that. The campground is in GSMNP but is only a 15 minute drive to Gatlinburg to buy the things you need. Watch out for the traffic in Gatlinburg though - with construction it was often at a standstill during our trip. There are bathroom facilities (non-heated) with cold running water. We were frigid cleaning up in the below-freezing temperatures! However, it was very beautiful and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Site B3 (tent campers only) was amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
7 Thank LaurainPCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Campsites are spacious & clean. Centrally located hiking trails, Elkmont's Little River & the Luarel Water Falls. I plenty of room for my camping equipment. Restrooms were clean. The Park Rangers were very nice & helpful. I'm looking forward to returning again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.8 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Creekside
Quality Inn Creekside
#34 of 78 in Gatlinburg
635 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
461 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkmont Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkmont Campground

Property: Elkmont Campground
Address: Smoky Mountain National Park, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Number of rooms: 220
Also Known As:
Elkmont Campground Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing