We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gatlinburg at New Years”

Gatlinburg Scenic Overlook
Ranked #5 of 109 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fredericktown, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gatlinburg at New Years”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although Gatlinburg TN is probably one of the most beautiful places to stay, not sure I could recommend at New Years. I wasn't aware that this time of year was one of the most busiest.

We were told to take a back way ino town because from the highway to town, which is probably 30 miles would have taken 3 hours. Four lanes in and out of town, but bumper to bumper all night. We would get up early, enjoy the wonderful view from our cabin with coffee in hand, then leave by 8:30 am to beat the traffic rush, and back to the cabin by 3.

Found the area to be a bit to touristy for us, even though we did find a route which took us through the local artists, which we enjoyed.

New Years dinner was booked at the Buckberry Lodge, this place was wonderful. 7 course set meal, small dining area which made it feel personal, antique surroundings, just magical. Wish we would have booked our room at this place, maybe next time off season.

If you like to eat pancakes, a place to get on every corner, shop and see a few shows, this is the place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    697
    153
    25
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breath taking views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The view is amazing especially when the mountains are covered in snow. It's a must to stop by every time we visit the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank kanwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
138 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a great place to take pictures; it is a beautiful panoramic view of Gatliburg. The mountains, trees and foliage are lovely even in the winter!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank illinoistraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful view from sunrise to sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

An awesome viewpoint overlooking the entire city of Gatlinburg with the mountains as a stunning backdrop. Amazing at sunrise! And getting there is the best shortcut in and out of busy Gatlinburg.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason63755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland,tn
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice view looking down into the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Its located on the Gatlinburg by pass .You can take the bypass coming from Pigeoun Forge and you will travel a couple of miles and is on the left side of the road. You can see downtown really well and also see the Tram & the skylift as well. The space needle is visable as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank barrywCleveland_tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gatlinburg Scenic Overlook also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Gatlinburg Scenic Overlook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing