We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get it on a good day”

Gatlinburg Scenic Overlook
Ranked #5 of 108 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Gatlinburg Overlook is located on the Gatlinburg Bypass which runs between the Gatlinburg Spur and Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Gatlinburg Spur runs between Pigeon Forge TN and Gatlinburg. The Bypass is accessible from the Spur or from the National Park. There are four parking areas on the Bypass. You can exit your vehicle and take in the views. We recommend the 2nd and 3rd parking areas. From the overlooks, you will see the entire town of Gatlinburg with its majestic mountain backdrop.
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Get it on a good day”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

You can see panaramic views of Gatlinburg. It's worth checking out but try to do it on a clear day as if you're into to photography, it's not much to shoot on a smoky or rainy day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Audra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    751
    160
    29
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tierra Verde, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A lot of fun!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This a beautiful view of the mountain. We have been on this a couple of times and always in the winter, when the sunlight hits the snowfall on the tops of the mountains. There is also a picture you can get when you make it to the top that is pretty cool. This is not a ride for little kids.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kornellius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We visited the overlook in August and then took our son back to see the view during our October trip. We enjoyed seeing our hotel and pointing out the sights to our son.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The only thing worth seeing in Gatlinburg!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The town is tacky, and full of traffic. YUK. But the view overlooking the town is awesome. From the ridiculous to the sublime!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Venus-Shine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It was pretty but unfortunately rainy. But the view is beautiful as is the whole Mountain. Traffiv was very heavy so it was a little harder to maneuver in and out of the parking areas.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TobyTyler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gatlinburg Scenic Overlook also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Gatlinburg Scenic Overlook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing