We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic with convenient location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping in the Smokies
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Basic with convenient location”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and would have left if it wasn't for their no refund policy (which I understand). Even though the camp was almost empty, we were wedged in between 2 other campers. So close we could hear them snoring. It is our fault we did not ask to be moved, but still. However, the facility is very clean and well maintained. The bathrooms are spotless. If you are looking for an easy access camp, with zero ambience where you can simply hook up your camper, then this is your place. Even though there is a small creek, the sound of traffic over powers the babbling brook. Now, with that said, the owner's are positively wonderful. They take pride in their property. The trolley service is convenient if you don't want to mess with parking in town. The location is also very convenient to the entrance of GSMNP.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xploretheplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Ga
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Can't say enough about this campground...the owners are very nice and also helpful. The place is small but not at all crammed in like other parks in the area. The grounds are clean and many sites back up to a stream. Bath house, laundry, pool...all very clean. Great cable and two wi-fi transmitters...no problems with them. Pet friendly but there are breed restrictions. Everyone picked up after their dog(s) probably because everything is so clean around you. Sites are level, gravel and have grass, picnic table and fire ring. There were gnats but we got tiki torches from the Dollar store next door. The trolley stops right out front. You can sit on the bank of the creek at night with the water flowing and watch the waterfall lights in the big tree at the restaurant nearby. We hated to leave!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BunkyAthens_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

First let me start off by saying this: We are from Michigan and our campgrounds are secluded and tree filled, not at all close to a busy road. While the owners are extremely nice and the bathhouse, pool, and grounds are kept very clean- this just wasn't what we expected. This campground is super small. Our kids had nowhere to explore, hike, or ride their bikes. There was a small stream behind our camper, but the traffic noise drowned out the sound of the stream. We had no interest in building a camp fire at night b/c of the traffic noise. We like to camp in the woods to actually hear nature. You will not get that here. What you will get is a reasonable priced campground to park your camper just to sleep in it. You will also get a clean, small campground with nice owners. I just really wish they would change the name of the park and perhaps post better pictures of this place. Very misleading. We had to find another campground to stay at for the remainder of our vacation. We didn't drive over 600 miles to camp at a poor campground when we could of stayed in Michigan at a much better one. If you are looking to just sleep there so you can visit Gatlinburg during the day- the trolley stop is right by the entrance of the park. Honestly, I would not recommend this campground, but I guess it depends on what you are looking for. Place to sleep to visit Gatlinburg or family memories around the camp fire?

Room Tip: Get a site that is behind the park office, on the stream. This may feel more like camping b/c the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BikiniWearingMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Tazewell, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Me and my husband bought our first camper and took our first camping trip to Gatlinburg, TN. We found this very nice campground and we are so glad we did. It was great from the get go. Bob directed us to our site and helped my husband set our camper up. We truly appreciated his help because being first time campers, we had tons of questions. The campground was very clean, bathhouse and pool as well as laundry areas immaculant. Bonnie and Bob were very friendly and helpful. We have camped there every time after that initial visit and plan to make this our regular camping area. Location is convenient to Gatlinburg, grocery stores, etc. Trolley stop right in front of the campground. A++++++++

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LailDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here after reading the review on here. So glad we did-the owners were super friendly and kept the grounds and restrooms immaculate. My biggest complaint was the location of the tent sites in relevance to the rvs. The area the tents were located was shaped like a "u" with the rvs being on either side of the tent sites and the tents in the middle. The rvs were loud at times being early in the am or later in the evening. The camp sites were very close to one another and when you are trying to sleep at midnight and having someone set up a tent right next to you that can be very aggrivating. I am not sure what their "late check in" policy is, but midnight is ridiculous! Yes there was traffic noise, but it personally didnt bother us. My husband was pleased with the wifi speed, which is something that is important to him. There was more than enough tent sites avail, why they had to be next to us i dont know. But we would definately stay there again-just hope for a better tent location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvermoon103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We tried this campground for the first time this October and LOVED everything about it! The owners are very friendly and helpful. Everything about the campground from the grounds to the laundry house is IMMACULATE and in good working order. Also a very pretty location and nestled down off the road next to the woods with a creek running behind our camper. Nice quiet campground that is just a few minutes from downtown Gatlinburg. We rode the trolly mostly and loved it. Trolly stop is right at the entrance to the campground. Price for the campground is nice as well. Also, a convenience store is located right next to the campground which came in very handy. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationer37209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great campground and location. Friendly staff, WiFi worked fantastic, and the bathrooms, showers, laundry room and swimming pool are kept very clean. The trolley stops right in front of the campground and there is a small grocery store right next door which was convenient. Very reasonably priced too. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canes1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatlinburg
0.3 mi away
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
4.0 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
8.8 mi away
Arrow Creek Campground
Arrow Creek Campground
#34 of 52 in Gatlinburg
32 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bear Cove Village
Bear Cove Village
#16 of 53 in Pigeon Forge
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping in the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping in the Smokies

Property: Camping in the Smokies
Address: 1640 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5832
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Camping In The Smokies Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing