We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic mill with friendly owners”
Review of Ely's Mill

Ely's Mill
Ranked #44 of 111 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Historic mill with friendly owners”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

General store type place at the end of Roaring Fork motor trail. We stopped in and was greeted by the owner who was doing some bead jewelry work. The place has home made everything!! And very reasonably priced. We bought a real wood cutting board and rolling pin each for $14? Hot apple cider and some pumpkin bread. Loved it!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Crossrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    32
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitwell, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Little country store”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stopped here when we came out of Roaring Fork Nature Trail. We bought jam, homemade bread and apple turnovers. Very tasty. The owner was spinning thread when we came in. She was very friendly and took the time to talk to us while we were there. This place was definitely not like the shops in town. It was a very historic place. You can tell it has been there for a very long time. It was a nice change of pace from all the tourist attractions. Just a little country store with friendly folks. We will visit again for more homemade goodies.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank shannon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Kentucky, United States
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most reasonable prices in gatlinburg!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

If your into hiking once you finish roaring fork motor trail be sure to stop at the mill! This quaint shop and historic land make will take you back in time and not clean out your wallet. I purchued small bear shaped bottles of honey for 1.50$ each a bottle of sargum for 1$ a hand spun and woven scarf for 10$ and a hand spun and woven table runner for 10$. The owner was so kind and charming, she helped us with directions and was so hospitable! We will defiantly be revisiting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A piece of local history!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We love history, so when I saw this on one of those free illustrated Gatlinburg maps, I thought we should go check it out! So glad we did! The original owner's granddaughter now owns/runs the place, and she has a heart for preserving not only the family history but the local history. For $5 dollars she will give you a tour of the old mill and all the goodies she has preserved since taking over the property. This is not fancy place, but a real one...with real people who live there and work there still. The old showroom is now a shop with local handcrafts and interesting items. She spins thread there in the store as well. Make sure and talk to her if you really want to get the flavor of the place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terese C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cozy and peaceful”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at a cabin 1 mile from downtown Gatlinburg, Tennessee. It was at Ely's Mill. It is off the beaten path. Has two bedrooms, 1 1/2 bathrooms, large living area with pull out sofa, wood burning fireplace ( wood provided!), fully equipped kitchen, screened in porch, and some provisions provided, flat screen televisions in each bedroom and living room, lots of reading material about the area, games, DVDs, washer and dryer, dish washer, microwave and a beautiful stream running right by it. Sounds wonderful at night! Love sitting on screened in porch drinking coffee each morning. The owner owns a simply delightful little store with some hand crafted items. It's in walking distance of the cabin. The cabin is not the Ritz, but it sure seems like home and the owner goes out of her way to make you feel at home. We loved it. Nothing super fancy, but perfect for us. Sleeps about 6.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenbrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ely's Mill also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ely's Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing