We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We thought this place would be perfect but were very disappointed! The rooms were beautiful but had the loudest doors at any hotel we have ever stayed. The safe in the room did not work,dvd player did not work & dryer vent blew lint into bathroom. The pool was very dirty! A hotel guest scooped out a big mass of hair from the center! The hot tub wasn't working right. Beautiful place but won't be staying there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PMR1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubSmokyMtn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Hello PMR1959, thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I hate that we dropped the ball with your stay! The issues with your safe, DVD player, and dryer vent, are all issues that should have been discovered via our PM program inspected prior to each check-in obviously something that did not happen prior to your check-in. I really hate that I was not notified earlier. We always encourage our guest to let us know immediately of any needs or issues they encounter during their stay that is the reason my cell and home phone numbers are giving to each guest as we always want to help you have the best vacation possible. I also pulled our pool scores from our “Public Swimming Pool Inspection Report Department of Health” for July 2013 they were as follows Indoor Spa=98,Indoor Pool=100,Outdoor Pool=100, and Outdoor Spa=100. I apologies that the hair was found by a guest, and assure you that the pools were properly cleaned. Once again I apologize for your disappointment in our resort, and hope it will not detour you from enjoying the beauty of The Great Smoky Mountains in the future. Don Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 941 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went white water rafting, Keith was our guide .. He was really a fun guide and my whole family had a great time !! We plan to go again next summer and hope that Keith will be there next year so hopefully he can be our guide again'n

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annierynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

First off great customer service. 2 weeks before our check in date we received a call to see what they could do to make our stay more comfortable. We requested to be creek side close to our family staying in a separate suite, and they had accommodated us. (we had a total of 9) We checked in and the staff was great. Very welcoming and friendly. Bobbie Jean at the front desk was exceptional and hysterical, she was like part of the family. The resort was clean and enjoyable. Walking distance to the downtown area was also great. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Creek side are quieter and direct view of the mountains, that makes you feel like you are in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubSmokyMtn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks for taking time to review your experience with us, mariab, I really do appreciate it. I apologize for the delay of my response. I have said many times before that exceeding your, our guest, expectations is our number 1 priority here at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort. It really tickles me to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that my team was able to take care of your needs in such a great manner, I agree with you Ms. Bobbie Jean, is great! I hope to see y’all back real soon! Don Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family.... We occupied three of the villas on the 8 floor. The villas were very comfortable with all the amenities you would need. The pool was great. There is both an outdoor area and and indoor pool area. There is even an outdoor grilling area.

The staff was generally friendly expect for the young lady who checked us in...Amber. She literally give us our keys and just stood there, we waited for about minute then since she wasn't going to tell us... Asked where do we park.. Etc... To which she responded?.? Just go around the corner. There was no explanation of where our room was, that there are different levels of parking or anything. We checked in around 7pm and it felt like we were bothering her by disturbing whatever it was she was doing. We are time share owners, stayed in at least 7 different places and was never treated like that. Customer service is really important especially the front desk. This really was a bad way to start off our vacation. I must say every one else we encounter was from the maintenance guys to other folks at the front desk were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iratherbetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubSmokyMtn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Iratherbetraveling, I also want to apologize to you for the delay in my reply. I appreciate you and your family choosing to spend your vacation time with us! I am really happy that y’all enjoyed your stay. I cannot agree more with you on how important customer service is to a resort. Here at Holiday inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort, we strive to exceed ALL our guest expectations. To do this with must ask each of our guests what their personal expectations are, obviously we did not do this for you and your family. I truly apologize for this gross oversight and assure you that the issues have been addressed. I hope to see you and your family again real soon! You should have my office, cell, and home numbers, so please let me know what I can do personally to exceed your expectations on your return visit. Don Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Friendly staff, clean rooms, and lots of extras most places never provide.
Lots of activities for the entire family scheduled through the resort each day. I can't say enough to describe how nice a place this resort is.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbstrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubSmokyMtn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hello there cbstrunk, First off I want to apologize for the delay in my response, and say how great it makes me feel to hear you and your family had such a good time with us! I really hope to see you again real soon! Don ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our family stayed for five days at this amazing place and we did NOT want to leave! Bobbie Jean and Ron --- two of the most lovely, helpful and frankly hilarious front desk folks we've ever come into contact with. The property is absolutely ideal. Condos are incredible, the pools are perfect, the location is exactly where you'd want it. Three minutes from the super fun chaos of the town but just far enough away to offer a completely mello, quiet and peaceful environment. We used every amenity possible here. This is our new family tradition. We will be back next summer!! Bobbie Jean we LOVE you!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubSmokyMtn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

WOW HOO! Ms. Jennifer G,
Now yours is the type of review that I and my whole staff work really hard to hear! I tell you what, that Bobby Jean and Ron are something else. I am so very fortunate to have them on my team; I do have a great bunch of people here. Meeting and exceeding our guest’s expectations is our number 1 priority here. It really tickles me that this is now your new family tradition. I hope to see y’all soon. Don Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

we were there for a timeshare presentation. .The room was clean and beds were very comfortable. .The staff was very friendly.. Would suggest that staff explain needs for more towels or anything else should be directed to them. they should also tell guests how and where to dispose of garbage.(we stayed in a 1 bedroom villa that had no housekeeping during the stay).We were happy they had a hot tub but wished the water was hotter. there were grills available but required charcoal. gas grills would have been more feasible. .the pool could have been updated. The stay however was very nice The location was perfect. the stores and activities were in walking distance and Pigeon Cove was a few minute drive away..

Room Tip: I would upgrade to at least a 1 bedroom villa as we did for the stay so a full kitchen is included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubSmokyMtn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hey there Ms. Cathy M.
Thank you so much for taking the time to check out our ownership opportunities and reviewing your experience here. I am happy that y’all enjoyed your stay with us! I will make sure to let my front desk folks know that they have to be clearer in their check-in presentation to insure that all pertinent information concerning our guests stay is conveyed and understood clearly. I will also check that hot water heater temperature as well. I hope y’all will be back to see us soon! Don Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#4 of 78 in Gatlinburg
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Historic Nature Trail
0.3 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#37 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort

Address: 404 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $147 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from downtown Gatlinburg and nestled below the breathtaking views of Smoky Mountain National Park, Smoky Mountain Resort is in the heart of it all! This popular and easygoing family resort offers the perfect location as well as an array of on-site amenities such as indoor & outdoor pools, hot tubs, fitness center, billiard room, an activity center and more. When you're ready for sites, you need only walk through the gates of the resort and you're in downtown Gatlinburg, where you can enjoy the area's best dining & shopping. If you are looking for fun adventures for the family, you've come to the right place. From mountain hiking, to white water rafting, to 1,300 feet aerial rides above the city, Gatlinburg has something for everyone! And don't forget the large variety of attractions available for the family to enjoy. After a busy day, return to Smoky Mountain Resort to rejuvenate in your spacious one or two-bedroom villa. All villas feature fully equipped kitchens, a separate living room & dining room area, a queen-size pullout sofa sleeper, an over sized spa tub and separate shower, a fireplace, a private screened porch, washer and dryer, plus televisions and a DVD/VCR player for those evenings in. Imagine having all the room you need to enjoy the things you love most about a great vacation! * Please note that the resort does not offer daily housekeeping services. Housekeeping services are available at the property for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, IHG, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Gatlinburg-Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing