We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Place!”

Salt and Pepper Shaker Museum
Ranked #26 of 109 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The collection consists of more than 20,000 Salt and Pepper Shakers from all over the world. A labor of love of collecting for more than 30 years. See the amazing variety of animals, vegetables, people and other colorful shapes, and the creativity of all the artists that created them. Great fun for all ages!
Smithville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cool Place!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This cool little museum was right across from where we were staying, so we sort of visited by default, and we were really glad that we did. Be sure to visit while you are in Gatlinburg, the small admission price is applicable toward a purchase, and it is a nice, cool, and oddly entertaining place to check out!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank momtotwo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    115
    20
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockwood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lots of fun - who ever knew there were so many varieties....”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were on vacation in Gatlinburg and my parents wanted to visit the S&P Museum (they like antiques), so our whole family made the trip. We were glad we went - it was a lot of fun looking at the thousands of S&P shakers. Who ever would have thought there were so many varieties of S&P shakers?!!! I would also like to know who would want S&P shakers that look like toilets?:-) Very peculiar, but we all got a chuckle out of them. My 4 year-old daughter wasn't thrilled about the idea of going - but we ended up making up a S&P shaker scavenger hunt, so she had fun too. It was worth the $3 to be immersed by this cool collection for a short while:-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KateS178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauldin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a last minute decision to visit. So glad we did. Only $3 to get in and that goes towards the price of a salt and pepper shaker set from the gift shop. It was easy to find, the owner was very pleasant and informative. My kids (ages 9, 14, 19) were complaining they didn't want to go but enjoyed themselves once there. It is very interesting to see so many shakers all in one place and so many different kinds, materials, newer, older. I found it fascinating! I would highly recommend this. It's inexpensive and fun. Didn't take up much time, self guided tour. Shaker set I purchased was $13.00 but with the $3.00 off it was only $10. Cute little trinket to remember our trip there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Interesting And Children Friendly.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This Extensive Collection Is Nicely Displayed In Enclosures Which Is A Comfort With Children Knowing No Accidental Damage Can Occur. Highly Recommend Visiting. Well Worth $3 Admission (Which You Get Credit If You Buy Something). Kids12 And Under Are Free.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ak2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were skeptical about the museum but we were walking by so we decided to stop in. The owner and her son were there and the museum started as her personal collection. The collection is great and the gift shop has some nice selections for souvenirs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dj12360763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt and Pepper Shaker Museum also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Salt and Pepper Shaker Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing