We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Good Looking Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
Ranked #67 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Birmingham, Al
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a Good Looking Place”
Reviewed May 13, 2006

I found the Howard Johnson online and it had some of best rates, but when we got there I wish I would have paid a little more money for something better. The pictures that they show online is not how the rooms look, the bed was so small I thought we would fall out, when you plug something up it would not stay plug, so we had to keep messing with it just to get our clock to stay plug, the remote did not have a back on it so it was hard to change the station. THIS HOTEL IS OLD AND NEED A LOT OF WORK! PAY THE EXTRA MONEY AND STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank Erica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    92
    105
    98
    102
See reviews for
198
166
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester Tn
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2005

Hello,
I stayed at the Howard Johnson in October of 2003. I was excited to stay at the hotel because I felt like I was gatting an amzing value, until I checked in. We paid $57.00 a night, which was lower than most of the hotels in town, and for good reason. We should have known something was wrong when we checked in the hotel explained to us how to get to our rooms. Apparently the lady that checked us in didnt know her own hotel. She said we were on the top floor of the building that we were in on the south Side. She lied. We were on the top floor of the second building, on the north side. Might I mention that the elevator to the sixth floor didnt work real well, and you could walk up and down the stairs faster than the elevator could take you. Finnaly After searching thirty minutes for our room, the room smelled like urine and wet paint. We left the air conditioning on and left for the afternoon, thinking it might clear out. Rather than get better it just magnified the problem. When we called to complain the front desk acted as if we were lying about the foul odor, and almost refused to move us to another room. They moved us next door, it smelled better but had serious issues. It was filthy, and was not worth any amount of money.

When we went down to try the suposed Hot Tub, we found the room it was in to be run down, the hot tub was cold, and no it wasnt a swimming pool, although it could have been. The Swimming Pool looked inviting, but it was October, so I cant say much.

I would not recomend anyone stay in this property at any time. As a former Cendant employee (The company that franchises Howard Johnson) I am ashamed to say that I once represented that company, take your money and stay in Pigeon Forge.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ManchesterTNGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 13, 2004

We booked a room for 3 days and 2 nights at this motel. The did allow us to check in about 2 hours early but that was the only good thing at the motel. The parking lot was completely full and we had to find alternative parking and walk to the motel. The guest laundry did not have any available laundry soap and neither did the front desk. We did not have towels or wash clothes and when we went to ask for some they had only one wash cloth available and no towels. We also got a call that said we needed to turn our tv volume down because the neighbors were complaining, our tv volume was on 2, can't go much lower. Of course, we didnt complain about the neighbors who had the hot tub, when it was turned on it sounded like the walls were falling and we couldnt hear our tv. Then, the ants, the bathroom was covered in ants and when I went to get into the shower, the bottom of the tub was covered with ants. I called 3 times in one day and NO ONE came to check on the problem. Very bad customer service. I would NOT recommend this motel to anyone.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiryat Motzkin, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2004

We spent our summer family vacaton there for 3 nights. The room was terribly dirty, foul smelling. Phone did not work. At first we got an untidy room that we had to change. Stuff was unpleasant. Next time we'll just go some other place...

Helpful?
5 Thank heinrich618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Alton, IL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2004

My wife and I took our vacation to Gatlinburg- our last before our daughter is born in November! We found this hotel on the web, found favorable reviews and booked it. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, but the housekeeping staff left much to be desired. After our second night the housekeepers seemed to only do a half-hearted at best job on our room. We brought this to the attention of the front desk and the manager (who made it apparent that she was new to this hotel), and apparently there was a small war going on between the housekeepers and the management that we got caught in the middle of. The problems, for the large part, were solved, but we never got enough towels in the bathroom and our coffee supplies and washbasin soap were never replaced unless we went and asked for it. Also, on the fourth night of our trip, there was a three foot high pile of towels sitting outside two rooms down from us that smelled progressively worse as the humid day and night went on. Otherwise, it's a good place for the money, it's centrally located near the Aquarium, quiet and (generally) clean. Provided there is no labor strife happening, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fangclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2004

This was our first time visiting Gatlinburg and didn't know much about the area or this hotel. The room and exterior (pool area) need some upgrades - the property overall is a little rough around the edges. But was clean and comfortable. We have a family of 6 and were able to get connecting rooms and that worked out great. The staff was courteous and helpful. If you are visiting during July 4th, you'll have a great spot for the parade and fireworks here. The parade passes right by the front of the hotel and the fireworks were set from a parking lot next door.

The hotel did the job, nothing special and we got the rooms for a very good rate - so we were satisfied overall.

Helpful?
5 Thank TonyO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#39 of 78 in Gatlinburg
475 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
#55 of 78 in Gatlinburg
892 reviews
0.8 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKVIEW INN & SUITES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKVIEW INN & SUITES

Property: PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
Address: 200 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Gatlinburg Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — PARKVIEW INN & SUITES 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your PARKVIEW INN & SUITES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Gatlinburg
Howard Johnson Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing