We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Work But Comfortable”
Review of Parkview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parkview Inn
Ranked #70 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel is an old one that was remodeled in the last 5 years or so. But the remodeling did not go far enough:
1 - BR sink was not replaced and CLEARLY shows its age.
2 - Tub is new(er) but is narrow and not much good to anyone bigger than Twiggy. It is so narrow that it is difficult to stand in to take a shower.
3 - HOT water comes out of the cold faucet in the sink at night (why???) --- tub/shower is ok.
4 - ONE elevator at ONE end of the building is veeeerrrrrrry SLLLLOOOOOOOOWWWWW and VERY unreliable. I was stuck in it (w/a maintenance man) for 20 minutes!
5 - Parking is EXTREMELY limited.
6 - Parking lot entrance is on the inside of a curve and it is difficult to see traffic from either direction. Impossible to get out during heavy traffic times (Thanksgiving, peak season, fall foliage, etc.).

On the other hand, the continental breakfast is adequate - includes fresh waffles, bagels, toast, cereal, tea & coffee. But you must get there before 10. If you are a late sleeper, plan on going to the local coffee shop. Personnel were friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Local trolley stop across the street.

Room Tip: Check elevator service. Ask for a room on the parking lot side, near the elevator ---- IF you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Parkview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

We are very happy that you stayed with us and enjoyed our breakfast and location , we were sold out that weekend so I apologize for parking being so full . We have recently upgraded most of our rooms and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 477 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Misty W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Walter Y, Manager at Parkview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I traveled from Puerto Rico and our experience was very good, we don't have any concern about our stay...the lady that make our check in was very nice and give us the directions to go to the Village and other stores with a smile.The housekeeper that made our room was friendly and leave our room as clean as it was the first day.Yes the room was old fashion but they have all that you need to stay and the room was very very clean. We were not there to stay in the room but to know Gatlinburg.For us it was perfect to stay, excellent location (steps from the shops), have a fridge and kettle and include breakfast consist in pastries,coffee, juices and waffles that minimize your Expenses.Definitley will return.

Room Tip: We just ask for the no-smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Parkview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

We're glad you enjoyed staying at the Howard Johnson's in Gatlinburg! Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I did not like this hotel! It was disgusting! The smell was terrible in the room and the bathroom had a few holes in the ceiling and the bathtub was dirty. The beds were very uncomfortable as well! This hotel is just flat out nasty!

The only good thing about this hotel is that the gym/workout room was free to guests and it has contenental breakfast. Other than that, it's not a good hotel at all! Would not recommend it.

Do not choose this hotel for any trip that you plan on going to Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Parkview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

So sorry we failed to make your stay a pleasant one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Walter Y, General Manager at Parkview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#38 of 78 in Gatlinburg
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
70 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
#52 of 78 in Gatlinburg
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#31 of 78 in Gatlinburg
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Inn

Address: 200 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Gatlinburg Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $54 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Parkview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Gatlinburg
Howard Johnson Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing