We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gatlinburg has better hotels to offer ....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkview Inn
Ranked #68 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Gatlinburg has better hotels to offer ....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've stayed in some dumpy hotels before ... and I have also stayed in quite a few Howard Johnsons in my time ... however, rarely were the two one and the same.

I have rarely had a bad experience with a Howard Johnson. This one, however, was quite the problem.

We made our reservation in advance. We thought the location was great ... not a far walk from downtown Gatlinburg (especially from the Donut Friar ... that place is AWESOME). We got to the hotel and checked in .... the front desk clerk was polite and nice. We got to out room (a king-size with fireplace and hot tub).

Well ... the toilet didn't work. The room was dingy and smelled weird. Ok ... well notify front desk and see what we can do. The maintenance guy would take a few hours to get there and fix the toilet, so we opted for another room.

Room #2 ... smelled better and didn't look so dingy. Still a king bed with a hot tub but no fireplace. No problem. However, no remote control for the tv. Call front desk and they promptly return to the room with one. I turn on the tv ... and there is a very loud and very annoying buzzing noise coming from it. I could tell that it wasn't from the speaker ... it was actually coming from the internal components. At times I really thought that the tv was going to catch fire or something.

I could have called again to complain ... probably could have gotten another room. By this time I was tired of it and just lived with it for my stay.

Our previous trip to Gatlinburg we stayed at another hotel down the street and had a better experience. I wish we had stayed there, but we had the Wyndham points and wanted to use them. Oh well, you live and you learn.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else unless they renovate. This whole hotel is worn out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Parkview Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
As General Manager of the company that operates Howard Johnson's in Gatlinburg, I must apologize for the unexceptable quality of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    86
    102
    93
    93
See reviews for
187
160
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewis Center, Ohio
Level Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was about the 10th trip to Gatlinburg and we had never stayed at the Howard Johnson in Gatlinburg.It is fairly simple to find as long as you turn left on RT321 when coming from Pigeon Forge and then 100 yards or so and you are there on the right hand side.We were told that we had been upgraded to a double room with fireplace for the same price.The front counter people are very friendly and helpful and the room was worn a bit but clean.We did not walk down to the breakfast so i have no comment on that subject.It is a decent place to bed down and shower for most of your time is spent out anyway in this area

Room Tip: Room 317 has the fireplace and a wonderful view of Gatlinburg-The only room here with such a great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wallycoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Parkview Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We appreciate your complimentary review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LENOIR
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed two nights. The first night had been bad and we had tracked in dirt. When the cleaning person came the next day, they did not vacuum the floor, therefore leaving noticeable dirt. Also, WIfi did not work the whole time we were there. Other than that everything was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank DIANA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter Y, General Manager at Parkview Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments! I apologize for the inconvenience related to the two issues mentioned, and we'll strive to improve both in hopes of your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINTER SPRINGS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I make reservation in this hotel with one month in advance went we get there it was not a friendly welcome and went we get to the room around 11:30pm with a late arrival in the refrigerator was and old pizza we was so tired that of driving for more than 9 hours that we just put the pizza outside in top of a cleaner car and forget about it in the morning we wake up and went we went to the bathroom it was a use towel hanging in the bathroom after that we step outside and for our surprise the cleaning car was there with the pizza in top they don’t even move the car!!!!!!!!!!! We went to the front desk and the only thing they offer us was clean towels and we have to take them to the room. The breakfast was awful so bad that we leave the hotel. The room was small and do not have microwave or even coffee maker. My family was very upset and we have to go to another hotel that was not god nether because that was available at the time without reservation. Went I request the checkout they charge the whole stay and days later the refund the days that I do not use. They charge me for a day even do I just stay hours in there under those conditions. But I do not fight even do I think they should not charge me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank EDUARDO S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTGOMERY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here on New Year's Eve 12-31-2012. The parking is absolutely horrendous. The rooms are very outdated and the sheets on one of our beds was either dirty or stained. There was mold growing around the tub and on the bathroom walls. Curtains had burn marks or slit marks in them. If you're looking for a quick place to just sleep and leave this would not be a bad place but that's about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lori1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chalet Inn
Chalet Inn
#44 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#27 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#36 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Inn

Property: Parkview Inn
Address: 200 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3252 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Gatlinburg Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Parkview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Gatlinburg
Howard Johnson Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing