We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”
Review of Parkview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parkview Inn
Ranked #69 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a wonderful stay! I generally always have a good experience when lodging because I TIP the housekeepers. They usually will go above and beyond to make your stay better if you show your appreciation for them. housekeepers don't make a lot of money and work extra hard to clean up our mess!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janebax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for Parkview Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 471 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks in 2011 for an extended Independence Day vacation. Was a little weary about staying here at first after viewing the website. Was pleasantly surprised during the stay. The rooms were very clean and was very nice to have a fridge after long days spent hiking in the mountains. Excellent location, didn't take long to get to hiking spots. Couldn't beat the price either. Only problem we had was with the Wifi.

Room Tip: We stayed on ground floor in the main building, had easy access to car and walking.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ9295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I would like to express my disappointed in this hotel (through email since no one has returned my call) this past weekend. December 7 - 9 2012. Our room number was 121. We had reservations for Friday through Sunday but we ended up checking out on Saturday. We visit Gatlinburg several times a year. Along with many friends and family. Usually in December for the Christmas parade, around Valentines Day, sometime in early spring and again in fall when the fall colors begin to change. We have enjoyed the Christmas parade for more than six years. We decided to try the Howard Johnson because of the location. Our room was clean and bed was comfortable, however, my daughter ended up getting very sick with a stomach virus on Friday December 7. It was a very long night for us and my husband ended up trying to find a 24 hour pharmacy to get our daughter some medicine at 3am. Before 9 o'clock on Saturday morning my husband went down to the front office to request more trash bags, wash cloths and a set of sheets. He explained to the women at the front desk that our daughter had been up all night sick and was told the cleaning lady would be making her rounds. ?? My husband seen the clean lady on his way back to the room and was able to get 2 wash cloths. My husband also explained to her that we had a sick child and needed the other items. He even told her we would be glad to change the sheets and empty the trash our-self, we just needed the items. She said "OK, your in room 121, OK I got it". So we thought someone would be coming to our room at the most 30 minutes?! NOPE! At 1 O'clock we decided we were not getting any trash bags or sheets or ANY service at all. THIS IS OVER 4 HOURS LATER! We decided to check out and go home (which is 3 hours away) went to the front office to check out and the same lady ask why we were checking out and my husband told her that no one ever came to our room to help us with the items we needed. The lady told him that the cleaning people were making rounds to get the rooms ready for people checking in. My husband told her he understood that BUT we had a sick child and needed those items. Her response was....I'm sorry I hope she feels better!

Customer service and service in general stinks!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly K. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Due to a cancelation, we got upgraded to a king size with fireplace for the same price! However, the Wi-fi would not reach our room which is supposed to be an included feature. Other than the internet issue, the staff was great and room was very nice!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank EMILY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Alexa S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Renee M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and really feel they need some work done, I feel they should only be charging half of what they do. We have stayed in other Howard Johnson's and this was the worst one. The internet didn't work, even if you went to reception, the ice machine was broken so you had to trek back to reception for ice and the laundry facilities that they told you about in your room directory had been removed, so had to drive 5 miles up the road to a laundramat.
Got back to our room in the afternoon to find the room hadn't been made up, so just got given some towels and told "oh well the staff have left for the day". Location was quite good, being able to walk easily into town, but I don't think we would stay again. They did give us a 10% discount on checking out. We did a 3 weeks driving trip around and stayed in some fabulous places at half the cost, they really need to give it a makeover.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#68 of 78 in Gatlinburg
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#37 of 78 in Gatlinburg
492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
#51 of 78 in Gatlinburg
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Inn

Address: 200 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Gatlinburg Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $54 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Parkview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Gatlinburg
Howard Johnson Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing