We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick drive through... will return”

Great Smoky Arts and Crafts Community
Ranked #2 of 28 Museums in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A community of artists and artisans selling their wares where you can find everything from basket weaving, to painting and metal smithing.
Clayton, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A quick drive through... will return”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a wonderful concept. An 8 mile drive through the country and virtually every house/building houses an arts or crafts business, restaurant, b&b. Had very little time to explore, but a welcome change from the hustle and bustle of touristy Gatlinburg.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gbgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    717
    308
    111
    32
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome area, must see!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

This is a great area to check out. Has lots of stores throughout the loop. The first spot there is a store called the Cherry Pit. Has amazing items made out of cherry pits. I bought a "collar" PAC and it works great. Heat it up in a microwave an it feels great! I have neck and back issues and so far it works well. Even bought a flax seed eye mask pillow for my migraines. Other stores include nature photographs and other crafty shops. Great for the afternoon of shopping for neat handcrafted items.

Helpful?
Thank Happy travelerF L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Wow..we visited here 10 years ago and came back to find this place very run down. Most of the shops have closed down and the ones that are opened, well, we were very dissapointed. If you're in the market for paintings then this is your place. Crafts, well there aren't any. I really hate that this place has gone down like it has. We only spent 30 minutes riding thru here to find that it was a complete waste of time.

Helpful?
3 Thank TruthfulMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Crafts”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

It is a really nice drive through looking at all the scenery plus stopping at the stores that have different crafts, candles and homemade jams and jellies.
There is alot of great shops and all of it is homemade and the people are so very friendly and eager to share their craft or give you a sample of some good homemade fudge or jam etc.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to visit!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

It was neat to see the pottery being made, and all the Smokey Mountain crafts. It worth the trip. My kids were enjoying it too!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Renae G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Smoky Arts and Crafts Community also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Great Smoky Arts and Crafts Community? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing