We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great property, hit or miss staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is my second time at this property. Make no mistake, it is a beautiful hotel. Perfect location, well cared for, nice rooms (although the mattresses need replaced) and right next to the park. We had a fantastic week, great time in smoky mountains and Gatlinburg. Able to walk one block to downtown for great restaurants and shopping. My complaint is the staff, some were VERY friendly, but others, not so much. We had hiked all day in the mountains, returned to the room to shower before dinner. Had to use the same little bottle of shampoo from the morning. We were traveling with myself my wife and three children under ten. needless to say we used the bottle before my wife had a chance to shower. she ran down to ask for another bottle and was told, sorry, you can BUY one from the convenience store. I was appalled. The hotel is not a motel six, and at approx. 200 per night, I would think you would be able to give me an extra bottle of shampoo. luckily we had an extra in our overnight bag we found from a trip to a Hilton in California in june. I just felt that was really tacky. But my biggest complaint staff wise was at check in. the staff at the front desk was fine, but we gathered our luggage, got in the elevator with the five of us and our bags, and the back of the elevator opens. Two people from housekeeping jumped in with a giant bag of towels. Ok, fine, no big deal. The problem was the fight. The elevator doors opened on the second floor. another person from housekeeping was standing there, these ladies began yelling about rooms not being cleaned, THROWING towels at each other, cursing, etc. My children are ten nine and six. This was unacceptable. they kept this up for a few minutes. finally I had had enough and asked them to stop. They apologized and pushed the door closed. They then began cussing about the first girl and yelling about how they were done with this place and leaving. We exited and went to our room, and later found them discussing it in the hall as we went out to dinner. It was truly bizarre, and completely unprofessional, especially if this were my first impression of this hotel. So overall great property, great location, modern and clean. But really need to put some dollars into customer service TRAINING!

Room Tip: all rooms were very quiet and well cared for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveldoctor40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hello traveldoctor40, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. While I'm very glad to hear that you loved the property and some of the staff you encountered, I'm very sad to see that you had to experience that unpleasent encounter with my staff. I can assure you this matter has been addressed and resolved. This was completely unacceptable for you and your family to witness this. With what seemed like a great start and a decent stay with us can easily be turned the opposite direction and for that I can't apologize enough. All I can tell you is that I promise to you that you will not ever experience that issue again while staying with us. Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post your review. If there is ever anything that I can do for you please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,470 - 1,476 of 1,922 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a wonderful place. It is in a great location within walking distance of most restaurants and attractions. We have stayed at many hotels in Gatlinburg as we live only an hour away and it makes a great weekend getaway. If you want quality you will not find a nicer hotel in Gatlinburg. There are many pancake houses and restaurants in the area. Although the breakfast price seems high to some people it is actually very worth the money at the Hilton as the price of $9.95 includes a full buffet of top quality foods and also you get made to order omelets, waffles, pancakes, French toast, The price includes coffee and any kind of juice you can think of. It really beats going to a local restaurant or pancake house as there are no long lines like they have. You are seated and eating as soon as you go down from your room. It is a beautiful hotel in a great location. It is a little more expensive than many hotels but you get what you pay for. Like all Hiltons the beds are great with the down comforters.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hello Scott E, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm so glad to hear that you had a good time with us. Our number one priority is to make sure that you have the best time possible. I'm also glad you were able to take advantage of our breakfast. Our kitchen staff does an excellent job and it nice to see that hard work paid off through a great comment such as yours. Thank you again and if there is ever anything that I can do for you please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

You'll love the value and amenities this hotel has to offer. Great value and great staff. You are only 1 block from all downtown Gatlinburg,tn has to offer. What a great place for couples to vacation. The staff goes out of their way to be sure you have a great experience. Money back if you aren't happy

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Hello Jeffrey G, thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review your stay. I'm glad to see that you had great interactions with our staff while you were here. I'm also glad that you put in your comments " Money back if you aren't happy". This is our Brand Promise and you are exactly right if you aren't completely satisfied you don't pay for it. This is how confident we are that you will have a great time with us. I hope that you will continue to make us your lodging choice for what we hope will be many more trips back to Gatlinburg. Thank you again and if there is ever anything that I can do for you please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very pleased with location and cleanliness- We stayed in a room that had a sleep number type bed. We couldn't get the bed to soften up though. Bed was very hard. Another big complaint is that there was no fan in the bathroom - very steamy and damp after shower. Other that than - excellent location and very clean. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Hello Melanie H, thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm glad to see that you had such a good time with us. This is the attitude we want all our guest to leave with. I'm sorry that your bed did not seem to function correctly. The next time you are here and you have any issues please don't hesitate to call right away and we will take care of it for you immediately. We want to make sure that you are well rested when you leave here. Thank you again and if there is ever anything that I can do for you please give me a call.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel staff really don't go the extra mile. Overflow parking poor lighting at night - Next door to other properites. Signs are everywhere stating hotel is not responsible for damage to cars, your own risk....Hilton really need to rethink liging and safety issues for personnel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Hello Randy C, thank you for choosing to stay with us and posting your review. It dissapoints me to see that you felt my staff didn't go the extra mile. The number one goal of my staff is to make sure that each guest that comes in here has the best vacation experience possible and I'm very sorry that we were unable to reach our goal with you. I promise that we will continue to get better and I hope that you will try us again the next time you are in Gatlinburg. If there is ever anything that I can do for you please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

It was an excellent experience, will definately stay again :) Very close to everythign on the Parkway, so conveinient. Staff is very accomidating and friendly. Room very clean and I like the fact that the rooms are internal. I don't feel safe in a hotel with the external rooms and this is one of the few in Gatlinburg like this.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Hello Christine N, thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm glad to see that you had a great time with us. The words "excellent experience" is like music to my ears. My staff and I strive for the best vacation experience possible and excellent is hard to top. I know that my staff will be happy to see this comment. Thank you again and if there is ever anything that I can do for you please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Went to Gatlinburg for a get away and had a wonderful time. This hotel is excellent. It is a little pricey, but worth the money. Although I arrived before check in the front desk didn't seem to mind. I reserved 2 rooms but only 1 was ready. The only complaint is housekeeping said it will only be another hr before the room would be ready and the front desk said they would call my cell phone when it was ready. Well it was after 4 and still no call so I went back to the hotel and they gave me the key. If I could have just gotten some kind of call to let me know the status of the room. Overall the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Each night my mom and I would take advantage of the cookies and beverages. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Benita U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Hello Benita U, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm glad to see that you had a good time with us. I apologize that my staff neglected to give you a call concerning your other room. I will definitely take this opportunity for training so that it won't happen again. I see that you were able to take advantage of the cookies and maybe some of those happy hour specials. The cookies are great and the specials in the restaurant are a great value so I'm glad you were able to experience that. Thank you again and if there is anything that I can ever do for you please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Eric Treadway
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#9 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown

Address: 635 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#1 Green Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#5 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $132 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg hotel in Tennessee is conveniently located on River Road less than 100 yards to the entrance of The Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Our hotel offers the natural attraction of the mountains and sounds of the nearby creeks. Come visit higher ground at our Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg. We are proud to be the very first hotel in the state of Tennessee to pursue our LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Certification, with many 'green' features including a chemical-free saltwater pool and hot tub, pervious hand-laid brick parking lot, in-room recycling and much more. Whether business, vacation, or weekend getaway brings you to Gatlinburg, Tennessee, our courteous hotel staff looks forward to welcoming you to our new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing