We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Helena, Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Travelling with two friends, all we were looking for was a nice, clean hotel to spend the night prior to a trek up Mt Leconte. We got much more than that. The reception upon check in was exceptionally friendly and the clerk changed our room from what we'd been pre-assigned (facing the parking lot) to the front of the building with a view onto River Rd. The lobby is very nice and inviting, with a fireplace and comfortable furnishings. Outside is a firepit and jacuzzi!
The room was very clean, comfortable and spacious.
We all agreed we wish we had more time to actually spend in the hotel and enjoy all of its amenities. We also quickly agreed that we won't stay anywhere else next time we're in Gatlinburg. The quality of the hotel is far better than where we'd stayed before, much newer, and was about $10 LESS.
Additionally, the location is great. In the center of everything, but at the same time, a block off the main busy road that runs through the ceneter of town so you don't have all of the noise and traffic.

Room Tip: Request a room on the River Rd side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,096
    429
    129
    41
    27
See reviews for
547
850
28
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel was in a good location away from the main group of tourists, but within close striking distance of the "strip". If you approach the hotel from the back side Gatlinburg, it makes getting into town much easier than driving through pigeon forge. Maid service was ok to good (one day they left some beds in the hallway) but minor overall. We didn't get a chance to try the food or bar, but it's a nice option and we would have it had been raining like it was when we left. I'd stay there again without fail.

Room Tip: The room with the Jacuzzi is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FishinRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had a horrible experience with American Patriot Getaways and ended up staying at the HIlton Garden Inn. They were awesome! They gave us a discounted rate because we had already had a tough day. They allowed us to check out the room and gave us a mini-tour. The bed was a little tough and we never did find the dial to adjust it, but the room and hotel are fantastic overall!!

The hotel was within walking distance of just about everything in Gatlinburg and offers free parking so you can walk everywhere without paying to park in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kweazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during the last few days in August. It is located in downtown off of the parkway, just a two minute walk through a parking garage from all the attractions on the Parkway.

The staff was very friendly and outgoing. They had a breakfast buffet for $9.99 and they will cook to order on the buffet also. I had heard that Gatlinburg was all about pancakes but after trying a couple and eating at the Hilton Garden Inn I have to say that the Garden Inn had the best breakfast we had. And the best part is we could just throw some clothes on and go downstairs! On a down note, the coffee there was some of the worst I've ever had, but no big deal.

One night we sat at the outdoor firepit for a few minutes and enjoyed the nice weather. There is an indoor pool that a family and kids were enjoying and there was a hot tub too. It's kind of in the middle of everything and very visible from the main lobby so I imagine it'd be hard to completely relax in the hot tub.

The room was clean and we had a nice king-sized bed. We had a gas fireplace but didn't use it in August. The room was a little small but it's not like we stayed in the room much. It was comfortable and clean and had more than enough space to relax.

If we ever come back to G'burg there is no other place I'll even consider.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davehead75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Nice hotel in the Gatlinburg area. It's located one block off the main strip so the rooms were very quiet and very convenient to Smoky Mountain National Park. The hotel room was clean, bed was comfortable, breakfast was very good, cooked to order eggs and a variety of other items served buffet style. Breakfast staff was excellent and front desk made good recommendations for meals. the only issue I had was housekeeping coming very late in the day. We were here to hike and stayed three nights. Each of the two days we returned to the room after 3pm to find the room not cleaned and housekeeping did not come until past 4pm. by then we had already returned from hiking, showered and winding down a bit before dinner. both days we asked that they not make the bed because we didn't want to leave the room and didn't want them in our room when we were there to relax. so they wound up only cleaning the bathroom on both days. Other than that, it was a decent choice for the area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chirish61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice hotel, friendly staff. Located about a block from the main drag so it is convenient to most of the shopping, attractions and restaurants but far enough away from the crowds to avoid the noise and hassles. Small parking lot for the number of rooms they have. Small microwave and minifridge are a nice touch. No in room safe.

The complimentary wi-fi is easy to access and reasonably fast for checking e-mail, the weather, news, etc. I would not want to try using it for work though but Gatlinburg isn't exactly the type place you would go to combine business and pleasure.

Can't understand the complaints about not knowing about the adjustable beds. There is a blurb on the hotel website about it, there was a sign on the reception desk about them and another one on the bed when we got to the room. Plenty of notice on the beds but unfortunately, like others have said, we couldn't get ours to work. The controls are built in to the bed and under all the sheeting so can be a little hard to find and adjust.

About the only thing I can find fault with is the bathtub. It's been cleaned so many times and with such rough cleaners that the finish is wearing off so it looks like it is always dirty. Guess there is no real way to fix that except to refinish or replace the tubs. The wife found the A/C running so much at night and the noise the mini-fridge made during the night very annoying but neither of those really bothered me that much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnkclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Central Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

A typical Hilton Garden Inn that was very clean and had an excellent staff that made our stay very enjoyable. We had a problem with the "comfort beds" whereby the comfort selector on the side of the matresses were inoperable. The staff very quicly replaced the mattresses with brand new mattresses. Excellent facility with great restaurant and also a very good happy hour at the bar from 5 to 7 pm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GDZPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.1 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Address: 635 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gatlinburg
#1 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#5 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg hotel in Tennessee is conveniently located on River Road less than 100 yards to the entrance of The Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Our hotel offers the natural attraction of the mountains and sounds of the nearby creeks. Come visit higher ground at our Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg. We are proud to be the very first hotel in the state of Tennessee to pursue our LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Certification, with many 'green' features including a chemical-free saltwater pool and hot tub, pervious hand-laid brick parking lot, in-room recycling and much more. Whether business, vacation, or weekend getaway brings you to Gatlinburg, Tennessee, our courteous hotel staff looks forward to welcoming you to our new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing