We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a keeper”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 30, 2011

This hotel has the best location in town. Lobby is very nice with an indoor and outdoor cozy fireplace. My kids loved the indoor pool. Breakfast was excellent but you need to either reserve your stay with the breakfast package or pay $10 per adult, per day. My kids ate for free ( ages 6 and 8) Breakfast is worth it and I repeat, excellent.
Loved that our room was impecable. That is super important to me and my family. If cleanliness is a must for you, this is the place to stay. The only thing I didn't like was that the A/c unit was loud and that disturbed my sleep a lot (hubby and kids slept fine)
Staff is great and that was very pleasing. Parking is free but gets full easily. We always found a parking spot, so I guess we were lucky. Although it has a good size parking lot (maybe everybody wants to stay there and that's why it's full!) Our room didn't have a balcony but it didn't bother us. Be careful when booking thru Orbitz, Hotels.com, etc because you might think you booked with the breakfast package and it's really not included. Maybe we missed an extra click on Orbitz's website, I'm not sure what happened, but thought we have booked with breakfast. Anyway, the hotel price is very affordable and it's worth it. This hotel is a keeper and would love to come back here again.

Room Tip: Saw some rooms had a balcony, maybe you can request those? We didn't get a balcony room but it d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picnspan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenkelly, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Dear Picnspan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg. I do apologize the A/C unit kept you up, it sounds like it may of had a problem, they are usually very quiet. Other than the A/C issue I'm glad to hear you had a good time. Thank you again and hope to see you again next time you visit Gatlinburg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,789 - 1,795 of 1,971 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed over Christmas and had a wonderful experience. The location was good, the staff was great, and the room was awesome. We did not take advantage of the breakfast as we really like the Apple Barn for breakfast. Wi-fi worked flawlessly.

Our only complaint was the hotel was kept a little too warm. We had a fireplace in our room but never got to turn it on. Turning the A/C to 60° to use the fireplace seemed unreasonable. We did have to turn the A/C down very low to sleep. Seemed strange because the outside temp was 27°.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGaddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenkelly, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Dear TheGaddys,

First off, thank you for choosing The Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg and spending Christmas here with us. It really is a beautiful time to do so. Another thanks for writing a review on your stay here during that time, we really do appreciate it. Please come back and see us again soon!

Thanks Again,

Kelly Blanchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Just spent a 3 day weekend in Gatlinburg. I am a repeat visitor to the Hilton Garden Inn and always enjoy my stays. In a very crowded town, the hotel gives you a chance to spread out a little with the available gym, indoor pool, and other amenities...a small haven to retreat from the busy-ness of the day, and have some quiet. Rates are reasonable and hotel is convenient for a lot of coming and going as you choose.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADWilliamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenkelly, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Dear ADWilliamz,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We certainly appreciate your loyalty to Hilton Garden Inn and hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Thanks Again,

Kelly Blanchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Our family enjoyed the Thanksgiving Holiday in Gatlinburg while staying at your hotel. Everything was just fine. The food at the breakfast buffet was very good and the service provided by our server "Norma" was excellent.
During our stay, we had several questions concerning area attractions, etc. We were fortunate to have a very knowledgeable young lady working the front desk that had answers for all our questions. She was a great help....Thanks Marlee!!! We hope to see you when we come back in January. (Maybe she should think about opening a car rental place)...sorry, that's a inside joke.......lol
Our room was very clean and comfortable.
See you guys next year!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluesforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenkelly, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your review on our property. Its wonderful that you chose the HGI Gatlinburg to spend Thanksgiving with your family. I'm glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and most importantly that you will be back. I will have Marlee brush up on some of the new Smoky Mountain fun things to do for the next time you visit! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

You cannot beat the location of this hotel! One block away from hundreds of great shops (which are even open on Sunday evening) and restaurants. We walked everywhere. The full breakfast buffet is Hilton outstanding, and even at $9.95 (including drink) worth every penny. The rooms are not large but adequate. The mattresses they rave about are "interesting". We would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texasskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenkelly, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay on our property. I will be sure to pass on your comments about breakfast to our Food and Beverage Director. Thank you again and we certainly hope the next time you visit Gatlinburg you choose the Hilton Garden Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Good experience here with friendly check-in.
Given how much they promote their cooked breakfasts in all the literature, it was a bit galling to find that you had to pay extra for it.
Room was comfortable if a little cramped, but not in too bad a way.
Location was good, though heavy rain and a run on umbrellas at reception forced us to drive to places to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenkelly, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg. I'm glad you had a great time here regardless of the rain! Thanks again and we hope to have you stay here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Great hotel, warm friendly staff, super breakfast at a bargain price. Easy and quick check in. Special thanks to Chad, you're the best! Our room was very nice, clean , comfortable and quiet. The view of the mountain and the fall colors was just what we wanted. Where can you go to get a buffet and cooked to order breakfast for $10.00? Omelets were the best! This was our third year and we will be back! Thanks!

Room Tip: Upper floors especially on the mountain side. Very quiet at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendysenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenkelly, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Thanks so much for your review on our property. We are grateful to our loyal guests who stay with us year after year, thank you for that! We look forward to your next visit, Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 77 in Gatlinburg
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 77 in Gatlinburg
1,320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Historic Nature Trail
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown

Address: 635 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#1 Green Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#5 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $98 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg hotel in Tennessee is conveniently located on River Road less than 100 yards to the entrance of The Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Our hotel offers the natural attraction of the mountains and sounds of the nearby creeks. Come visit higher ground at our Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg. We are proud to be the very first hotel in the state of Tennessee to pursue our LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Certification, with many 'green' features including a chemical-free saltwater pool and hot tub, pervious hand-laid brick parking lot, in-room recycling and much more. Whether business, vacation, or weekend getaway brings you to Gatlinburg, Tennessee, our courteous hotel staff looks forward to welcoming you to our new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing