We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Room for everyone.”

Review of Big Bear Lodge

Big Bear Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Big Bear Lodge
Fall Views from Big Bear Lodge Main Floor Living Room at Big Bear Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Big Bear Lodge
Fall Views from Big Bear Lodge
Main Floor Living Room at Big Bear Lodge
Main Floor Living Room at Big Bear Lodge
Main Floor Kitchen at Big Bear Lodge
Main Floor Kitchen at Big Bear Lodge
Main Floor Dining Area at Big Bear Lodge
Deck Views from Big Bear Lodge
Master Bedroom at Big Bear Lodge
Master Bathroom at Big Bear Lodge
Main Floor Hot Tub at Big Bear Lodge
Loft at Big Bear Lodge
Fifth Floor Bedroom at Big Bear Lodge
Fifth Floor Bedroom at Big Bear Lodge
Third Floor Living Room at Big Bear Lodge
Third Floor Kitchen at Big Bear Lodge
Third Floor Master Bedroom at Big Bear Lodge
Third Floor Bedroom at Big Bear Lodge
Third Floor Bedroom at Big Bear Lodge
Deck Swing at Big Bear Lodge
Second Floor Living Room at Big Bear Lodge
Game Tables at Big Bear Lodge
Second Floor Bedroom at Big Bear Lodge
Second Floor Bedroom at Big Bear Lodge
Game Room at Big Bear Lodge
First Floor Hot Tub at Big Bear Lodge
View from Big Bear Lodge
Entrance at Big Bear Lodge
Entrance of Big Bear Lodge
Wedding at Big Bear Lodge
Wedding at Big Bear Lodge
Wedding at Big Bear Lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Gatlinburg, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vicky w
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great time , horrible cabin”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My family stay in bear big lodge the cabin was smaller than the picture, the living room had been upgraded. there was black mold in the corner of the wall from the loft to the third floor from some kind of link. the bottom floor and hot tub area looked scarey way different than the picture. lots of thing in the cabin didnt work the toilet seat on three floor kept falling off. Most of my family became sick, It's just be a little over a week and some are still sick my 5 year old grandson is in the hospital. The cleaner filled out the guest survey themselves and left it on the counter. The people who picked up the trash left trash that had fallen out the can while moving it on the front porch. Several of us video our time in the cabin and a lot of different shadows show up in each video we dont know what is was but it was there, someone need to go in and do a over haul on this cabin.The bar-b-que grills was the one you find in the park it was hard to cook for 20 plus people on that big disappointment. We will never use American patroit getaway again We will have to go back to Timber Top luxury Cabins.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beening in the smokey mountains with family
Liked least: Everyone getting sick
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2014
I am sorry that you were unhappy with Big Bear Lodge. I apologize for the maintenance problems you had during your stay. Had you called our Guest Services, we would have gladly sent someone to fix the problems. The black stains, are stains...not mold. I'm not sure how the cabin could be smaller than presented on the website since the pictures are actually of the cabin it's self and it is over 8,000 sq. feet. I will notify the housekeeping manager regarding the trash pickup. This isn't typical of our staff and I can certainly see why you were displeased.

At the end of your comments you said you were going back to the a luxury cabin that you had rented from another rental company. I want to point out that Big Bear Lodge is listed as a 'value' cabin in our inventory of properties. We do have many 'luxury' cabins, but since you chose a 'value' cabin, it wouldn't be a fair to compare it to a 'luxury' cabin. I'm sure the price you would pay for that 'luxury' cabin would be much more than you paid for Big Bear Lodge. I hope you'll give our company another chance and perhaps try one of our 'luxury' properties next time. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are always interested in hearing how we can improve our properties.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton SC
Reviewed February 6, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2014
I am sorry that you were not pleased with Big Bear Lodge. I have sent your review to the owner of the property and strongly suggested that the items you mentioned be fixed.

Thank you for your input. I assure you that your review is being seen by the owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NC
Reviewed December 2, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WV
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MS
Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Knoxville
Reviewed June 26, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nashville
Reviewed June 21, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing