We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location in the smokies-could use some updates.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wentzville, Missouri, United States
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice location in the smokies-could use some updates.”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was our second visit to Mountain Loft-last was 4 yrs ago. We stayed in a two bedroom chalet, which was plenty of room for our family of 4. It had a full kitchen as well as washer/dryer and towels. The chalet itself looked a little tired-for example, the Jacuzzi tub had a slat missing in the paneling.

The resort has several pools and hot tubs (indoor and outdoor) as well as a small workout room and game room (although the only game my kids wanted to play-air hockey-was broken).

Overall, Mountain Loft is a nice resort in a great location that with a little effort could really be a first class vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    194
    111
    79
    71
See reviews for
289
201
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is our home away from home.My tripadvisor name is dubbed after Mountainloft because my girls call this place our treehouse. We always stay in the phase II villas and recommend the 2bdrm deluxe,although we do fine in a 1bdrm deluxe with our kids still being young. We love being so close to the entrance to the Smokies and having a great view. Wish the pool was a little more like Wi Dells pool and not such a small indoor pool, and also that there were gas grills like so many other BG resorts-that would make it 5 stars for me..We've stayed here over 20 times and always choose the villas, we don't love townhomes, but I know other BG owners from work who do.Once when our jeep broke down in the mountains a staff member gave us a ride!!! Now thats service! Security did once accuse us of partying loud d/t neighbor complaint when we stayed at townhome-really it was our three year olds woke up to play out of the blue at 430am, we left by 445 since our neighbors were intolerant after 2min of it, so we ended up in cades cove at dawn seeing several bears and a ton of deer! If you arent a fan of families with small kids, please remember, we need vacations too, maybe even moreso than you lol! We ALWAYS remove our kids from the area if they are too noisy as quickly as we can to be considerate of others, but we aren't magicians, we dont have mute buttons either!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TreehouseTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed in phase two of MountainLoft and the unit was a little newer. It was a two bedroom combined, which meant there were two separate one bedroom units (each with full kitchens) with access to each side. My son, his wife and their two little girls and I stayed in the unit. We had plenty of room for the five of us. The VIEW from the patio area of the mountains was fantastic! It turned a three star experience into a four star!

We liked that it was not in downtown Gatlinburg, yet was close to the national park

The kids and I went to the pool every late afternoon or evening. That's a nice area with hot tubs and a sauna as well as both an indoor and outdoor pool.

Room Tip: The walls are thin, so a fifth floor end unit would be ideal (in Phase 2). They will be quieter, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a really beautifull resort. We stayed in a 2 bedroom combined unit and loved having two washer dryers and 4 beds for our party. We had two kitchens, including two full sized fridges. We enjoyed being able to make breakast every morning and appreciated the convenience of having the grocery store less than five minutes away (and they have great prices too!). The unit was very clean. There are two pools (an outdoor and indoor/outdoor).

We liked the fact that it was not in downtown Gatlinburg, which can be very crowded, but was close enough for us to be in the downtown area and the national park in just a few minutes.

We understand that the resort will be renovated in the near future, so it will only be better. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FourGreatKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just got home from a FANTASTIC Gatlinburg trip. We stayed at the resort with family who has the timeshares with BlueGreen. We weren't sure what to expect, so couldn't really be disappointed. We had a 3 room townhouse. No, it is not modern. But yes, it is clean and had what we needed.

There are no maids that come in to clean while you are there, so keep that in mind. The kitchen is stocked with supplies that you would need--but you just need to buy food. I'd recommend bringing a portable grill too! Everything was working well for us. So, like I said, where you stay is NOT up to date, but feels cozy and was a great hub for us during our adventures.

The previous poster said it, only one functioning pool was a little strange. The clubhouse was nice.

It was nice to be "away" from downtown Gatlinburg, but close enough that going there isn't a hassle.

I would stay again, but I recommend definitely doing your research before coming so you have realistic expectations.

Room Tip: Chalets and the "condo" building had the best rooms. Our townhouse had a direct view of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelcoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrilton, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Compared to other BlueGreen Resorts, we were not impressed at all. They do not give you any information when you check in.

In the summer one of the pools was "closed for the season". Pools were very small for size of the resort and not well maintained. Pool towels were in short supply. Room towels are not delivered to your condo and the towel exchange is only open during inconvenient hours. Requesting towels is a hassle and takes a long time. Extra trash-bags were not provided and when requested we received only one. Had trouble with centipedes and ants.

Design of the kitchen in the chalet is awkward. The oven door cannot be fully opened due to the position of the fridge. The couch sinks when sitting on it making it uncomfortable. The beds sleep at incline with your feet above your head.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, GA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just got back from a one week stay in a deluxe 1 bdrm unit. We enjoyed being outside of the town and all the traffic. The units are not deluxe, but are nice and we found it comfortable. The king size bed is firm, but we had no problem sleeping. For 2 people the unit had all we needed and we found it attractive and comfortable. The kitchen is very small and not intended for any serious cooking. Preparing breakfast in it was satisfactory, which is all we planned to do. The landscaping on this property is gorgeous and even the retaining wall had a lovely painted mural on it. It is located near the arts and crafts area outside of the town and extremely close to the bypass taking you to Pigeon Forge.

We both agreed we would stay here again, since we loved the mountain setting and being away from the crowds and parking problems in Gatlinburg. We also loved the close proximity of the grocery store which was also very nicely stocked.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyCatDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatlinburg
2.6 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
2.4 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Laurel Crest
Laurel Crest
#43 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
362 reviews
2.4 mi away
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection

Property: Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection
Address: 110 Mountainloft Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5355 (Formerly MountainLoft Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainloft Resort Gatlinburg
Mountainloft Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Loft Resort Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing