We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not bad.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We rolled into the Pigeon Forge area at about 3pm on a Saturday and then had bumper to bumper traffic for 12 miles all the way into Gatlinburg which took 1 hour. We checked in just after check in time of 4pm. There was a line to check in which took at least 10 minutes. Then the check in process took about 8-10 minutes. The girl at the front desk had to step away from the desk go into another room for 5 minutes to see if our room(s) was ready yet. Then we had to go to some other lady to get our parking tag. She asked if we were over 25 and had a credit card, and was saying we could get a free gift if we bla bla bla. I turned that down of course. We stayed in building 8 on the bottom floor. Note there are several different buildings and villas here not just the few you see in the picture high on the mountain top. Our building was down a hill from the building you see in all the pictures. We had a nice view of the parking lot. You would really have to be near the top to get any decent view. We had a 2 bed room combined, which means there is one door that leads to a small room with 2 separate doors. The first door plus the 2 inside doors must be opened with a key card and will shut if you do not prop them open. So this would be great for separate couples traveling together who might want their privacy. My wife and I plus our 2 children were in this one so we used a couple of the little ottomans to prop open the 2 doors so we could have free roam. The outside building is dirty and I think they need to power wash the walls and doors because they are very dusty/dirty. So we had double everything, 2 kitchens, 2 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms and a total of 4 TVs. The larger unit did have a gas fireplace which was nice as well as a flat screen mounted above it. For some reason the cable on all the TVs was grainy/fuzzy and not clear. I don't think it is a problem with the TVs. WI-FI was free although in their binder it says there is a charge. The glass on 1 of our coffee pots was cracked, so I called them and they brought a new one (used one) to the door within 10 minutes, then they called to confirm we received it. The area, in general, is very quiet. I didn't like the checkered flooring in the kitchen and bathroom. It was like those cheap tiles you see in a store. Some of them had gaps between them, around the toilet. The larger unit had a tub and a separate shower. The ceiling above the shower was bending down a little and was soft. I think there may have been a little leak from the units shower drain above. I told them about it when we checked out and they said they would note it. Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge are heavily over run with tourists and traffic. We usually go to Branson and this place was much worse. We liked spending most our time exploring the Smoky Mountain National Park. But if you want to blow a bunch of money, then hang out in Pigeon Forge. I give this hotel/condo a 4 out of 5 to be nice. I have seen some scary reviews of this place regarding bed begs etc. but we didn’t see any. I think the place needs to work hard to start getting excellent ratings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandomGuy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    194
    111
    78
    71
See reviews for
290
200
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, maine
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We traded into this resort from our home resort in Maine. We stayed in the villas, small but comfy for just the 2 of us. Washer and dryer in the unit was cinvienent. Our unit was 451,our bedroom window was directly across from the housekeeping supply room. On the weekends the housekeeping staff rolled these very large carts to this room. It was very loud, rolling carts on cement! When you reserve at this resort, if you want to sleep late don't get a room across from the housekeeping room! if I stayed here again, I would stay in the townhouses. Overall, the unit was clean,cinvienent,staff was nice,helpful, but not a 5star resort!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We visited this resort on our time share from Bluegreen.
We stayed 5 nights in chalet 104.

The grounds were beautifully landscaped and maintained. The clubhouse spacious, with attractive decor and coffee till 8 pm.

Monday they have continental breakfast at the clubhouse /at 10 am/ paired with presentations from selected area attractions. And it's not a sales pitch...
Thanks to that and my daughter's listening skills, we were able to answer some trivia questions pertaining to the attractions and score some free tickets or deeply discounted deals.
We took advantage of these to the fullest...

Our chalet could accomodate 8 people. 2 bedrooms, 2 single beds in the loft and a sofa-bed.
2 bathrooms, 2 balconies /one with little table and chairs/ - all together - very comfortable and cozy with nice decor. Could be updated a little bit - but that's the only negative /?/ that I can say about it.

We had a minor problem with one of our bath's toilet and it was dealt with in express time.
Customer service is great there.

Altogether - nice grounds, pleasing to the eye, nice 3 pools, hot tubs, great views from the top of the mountain, where the main building is.

Can't wait to go there again...

Room Tip: We liked our chalet since we didn't have to share a wall with anybody, and that, sometimes, can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zabbba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We love traveling with timeshares, it is so much better than hotels...having said that, I am pretty sure we would not have selected this resort had we known what kind of room we would be put in initially. We arrived late 2am to check in. The security guard did our check in at the security gate, and he was, well, RUDE. Not the friendly Tennessee attitude I am used to. We got to our room and it was smaller than most hotel rooms we have stayed in. It was a 1BR, and the BR was so small, there was not even enough room to place a suitcase on the floor beside the bed. The kitchen was located in the hallway that separates the front door from the living area, which is also so small, there is literally no walking room if the pull out sofa is pulled out. The bathroom was so small, one could have their legs in the shower, sitting on the toilet, and washing hands in the sink all at the same time. The shower curtain was coming out of the wall, so that when one was taking a shower, the curtain fell to the middle, allowing water to drench the floor. The lighting was so dim, that Im surprised my husband didn't cut himself while shaving. This was a basement unit, so we had to take the stairs or elevator down to reach the room. There were spiders in webs everywhere, all over the walkways and stairwells. I am aware this is a mountain resort, but for goodness sake, can't housekeeping clean those webs daily? We live in PHX where there are lots of bugs, and have traveled to many other places including mexico, where the spider webs are removed by the staff.
I went to complain to the front desk about our room on our 2nd day. I was told that they have no control over our room assignment and that we would have to call Interval. Knowing that the rooms are actually assigned by the resort (I have had this conversation with Interval when booking) I continued to press for a different room. Fortunately, the mgr was available and 'found' a empty 1 BR on the 5th floor and we were allowed to change rooms to accommodations we were much more accustomed to. The front desk worker even told me that the 1br we were initially assigned to were better suited for 'business travelers' that were not traveling with family.
Do yourself a favor, stay out of the basement.
Of note, there is a nice grocery store less than 2mi away, Food City. The resort is conveniently located in Gatlinburg, with easy access to Pigeon Forge, the Mountains, and the parkway to walk around in G-burg.

Room Tip: Stay out of the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My family makes a trip to the area every three years. We typically will rent a cabin in the hills but decided that since we are Bluegreen owners we would try this resort. BIG Mistake!!!!! Sure the grounds are well cared for, but after that beware. We stayed in a two bedroom townhouse and pretty much everything was falling apart. Starting with the front door that had a faulty lock ( it took 4 guys and 2 hours to repair.....seriously??). The trim around the glass on the front door was hanging by threads, the outer decks were in need of serious repair as some of the spindles were unnailed (who uses nails to build a deck anyways?), the floor boards were in serious need of sanding and paint as my 5 year old had a sliver about 3 inches long and 1/4 inch wide.....you should have heard that scream. Inside was worse. Overall it was dirty and gross, the vinyl flooring was peel and stick which would be fine if not for the 1/4 inch gaps that revealed an older floor and who knows what stuck in those gaps. The carpet was dingy and stained, the walls were filthy, the ceiling was cracked with pieces dropping down, cobwebs everywhere. The windows were filled with bugs, the screen on one of the sliders was inoperable due to wheels that were wore down to nothing. In the kitchen, the soap dispenser in the dishwasher wouldn't dispense the soap. Imagine using their dishes to feed your family, loading the dishwasher after your meal only to discover that the soap from the previous cycle was still in the machine. I thought ok, maybe just a fluke, nope it wasn't. The cabinets were falling apart. We had to use their electric can opener to stabilize one of the shelves so it wouldn't collapse. Our unit had two bedrooms, one a king the other two twins and a sleeper in the living room. We have 3 children, so one was assigned the sleeper. Unfortunately, the mattress was so wore down that the springs felt like they were popping out. So plan B, we moved the mattresses from the second bedroom into the living room to create one large bed for all three to sleep on. Did I mention that the bedding was stiff and scratchy? Overall we were extremely disappointed. We will continue to visit the area, but never with Bluegreen.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heathermor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We met up with my husband's family, since the location was central to everyone. We stayed in the townhomes and they were able to honor our request to have units next to each other. We had 2 townhomes, which gave us 4 individual units. There were 3 families with kids (15 total) and we each had our own private space. We all have kids (ages 9mo - 12 yrs), so it was nice to have plenty of room to sleep and spread out.

The property is beautiful and I agree with other reviews that it was nice to be away from the Gatlinburg and Pidgeon Forge strip. A little touristy for my taste. It was great to see mountains and to be close to Smokey Mountain National Park. Just plan accordingly and go earlier in the day, otherwise, traffic can be an issue. It takes about 15min. to get to the park entrance. So, we spent two days going into the park out of the four we were there.

We did not participate in resort activities, but there was a nice schedule the week we stayed. From relaxation/massage to BBQ. The clubhouse is very comfortable, and we could walk from our location. We also had a pool located near our townhouse, across the parking lot. So, we spent time at both. The clubhouse pool is surrounded by trees and has an indoor option. Both pools have hot tubs. There was another pool on property that we did not use, and we saw that it had a lookout deck where you can view the mountains. The fitness center is very small, but fine for a quick work out.

The units were very nice. We stayed in an updated unit and two of the families were in an older version. I enjoyed the hardwood and tile floors. Made cleaning up easier. The bedrooms were carpeted. We stayed in the larger side. There was a bedroom downstairs with two twin beds and nice furniture and large closet. Nice sized full-bath in the hallway w/ tub and shower. Washer/dryer in hallway. Small alley kitchen, but had everything we needed. Full-sized fridge and dishwasher. Nice livingroom/eating area. Flat screen TV w/ DVD player. Nice deck w/ table and 4 chairs. Electric fireplace. Ceiling fan.

Upstairs, a lovely master suite. Huge bathroom w/ jacuzzi tub and shower stall. Plenty of space. Nice king size bed. Closet. Deck w/ furniture.

Our unit was attached to the smaller unit through a door in the living room. Perfect for visiting w/ family. Could still hear sound through the walls. Their unit had one bedroom, but open kitchen/living room and eating area.

We cooked all of our meals. Used the charcoal grills on property. They were located pretty close to the townhomes. The grocery store in town is very close to the property.

Only negatives were not having recycling on property. So, we threw everything away. This was not the case when we stayed at other Blue Green resorts. Not to mention the Smokey Mountain National park has the most air pollution of all the National parks. Sad.

The other negative is that the linen exchange is only open 9AM-12PM and you have to pick up yourself. Other resorts will deliver to your room. So, we washed our towels, but the dryer took forever. Not great when you are exploring all day and want to shower in the evening, but we managed.

Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in 141 A, and the upstairs balcony had a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorkingMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We are new Bluegreen owners and this was our first visit to an actual property. We were very impressed with the wonderful view. We agree with other reviews that have been written that the walls are very thin and one day I woke up thinking that someone standing in our TV room talking.

Not a lot of activities going on because of constructions but the ones they did have (i.e., ice cream social) were well done. Pools could use some refinishing.

The location was perfect because it isn't located in the hustle and bustle of downtown Gatlinburg. Overall we had a remarkable time and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agilemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatlinburg
2.6 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
3.2 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
1.7 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
463 reviews
7.8 mi away
Laurel Crest
Laurel Crest
#44 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection

Property: Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection
Address: 110 Mountainloft Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5355 (Formerly MountainLoft Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainloft Resort Gatlinburg
Mountainloft Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Loft Resort Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing