We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We used a travel certificate from our management company and were put at this resort after another we had booked turned out to be overbooked. I was a little nervous after reading the reviews, but we had a great experiene. Every one we dealt with at the resort was very nice. We had a maintenance issue the first moring and the repair man was there within 30 minutes and took care of our problem. He was very nice as well. The indoor pool is a little small, but the weather was pretty nice and so the kids were able to swim outside as well. There is a hot tub both inside and outside which we were able to use in the same area as the pool. The pool wasn't crowded so the kids had a great time!

If you are going here thinking it's a 5 star then you will be disappointed. It is a resort in the mountains and overall quite nice. We stayed in a two bedroom chalet which was actually three bedrooms considering the loft which had 2 twin beds (loft looks over the FR so this may not work with little kids who go to bed early). There was plenty of space for my husband and I with our three kids and looked to be recently updated. The kitchen is very small, but since we were on vacation and not making 4 course meals we didn't care. We liked the fact that it was out of the way of the craziness of the downtown area yet not too far from the park.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mbethrod16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 645 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

We are bluegreen owners and the resort looked nice. Decor is up date, room is clean, definitely shows a little wear, but nothing extreme. However, we booked the standard one bedroom unit and it is TINY. There is no place to store your luggage, we left ours in the den. The "jacuzzi tub" was nothing more than a little jet tub. I think some of the other room have more traditional jazcuzis, but not the standard. Close to downtown and smoky mountain park. the donut friar in the village is a must visit, hard rock cafe was substandard. Nice place, would stay here again, but only in a larger room.

Room Tip: do not get a standard room, TOO small for 2 people if you have a suitcase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aa21196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This was one of the best places i have stayed.The rooms were spacious,balcony was so nice to sit and view the mountains.The only 1 negative was the shower was so small. It had a large jet tub though which was nice.I would stayed here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to get on a higher floor if you like to sit on balcony and view the scenic hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank diane39817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Poor customer service. Older buildings maintained on outside inside awful. Carpet filthy very weathered and creepy. Ammenties limited however after just 2 rolls of tp then u can buy it cheesy.unjustified arrogance from office staff one minute past check out time they charge for whole day not custOmer friendly. Towels smelled rotten. One bar of soap for three sinks & shower. Don't stay don't rent don't invest run!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cabinfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We are Bluegreen owners and booked this resort about 10 months out looking forward to a mountain vacation for once. A highlight for us was supposed to be great views of the surrounding mountains, which do abound from all over the resort, but we were very dissapointed to find that we were booked in a first floor unit (which is actually below parking level) in building 10. When I called the front desk to complain and ask for an upgrade, I was told that the resort was full and I was actually assigned that unit from the beginning because I used Bluegreen's online booking system (which they push all the time) and apparently that system starts booking rooms on the first floor and works it's way up as more and more rooms are booked. That's the first time I've ever heard of early reservations getting the shaft, and I will certainly call a Bluegreen reservation specialist from now on to make sure it doesn't happen again!
Anyway, the decor of the unit itself was nice, buildings 9, 10, and 11, are the newest I believe. It was well furnished and cozy, but again due to the first floor location, it was very dark and somewhat dungeon like. Think: the bedroom window looked out at a concrete wall (which ironically was lit up by very bright corridor lights at night, making the bedroom not so dark for sleeping) and the balcony window overlooked a tree that had been planted directly in front of it as "landscaping" . Through the branches of that little tree, way in the distance we had a tiny peek of the mountains, but nothing like we expected. Our car actually had a gorgeous view of the mountains from the parking lot though! But our plan wasn't to stay in the room the whole time anyway, so we decided to let it go and make the best of it.
The grounds are well manicured and attractive. We saw two of the three pool areas, and although they are small, they are attractive and well maintained. The "hub", if you can call it that, of activity is the main clubhouse which is also attractive and has a pool, sauna, fitness center, and game room. We did miss the barbeque grills that are a trademark of Bluegreen resorts. We headed down to the clubhouse, where the map shows the grills are located, with our just bought steaks to grill up the first night, and couldn't find grills anywhere. Ended up broiling them in the oven:(
Mountainloft is a spacious resort, close enough to the hubub of Gatlinburg, but not marred by it. I found the entire Gatlinburg & Pigeon Forge area to be very tacky, so I was extremely glad that our resort was somewhat distanced from that and we were able to enjoy the more peaceful setting the resort had to offer. The Great Smoky Mountains National Park was definitely the highlight of our trip, we spent 2 full days there hiking and fishing and driving around watching for wildlife. The park and the resort were our two favorite things about the trip, and we would've been even happier if we were on a higher floor or possibly in another building. I can't knock the whole resort just because of our room assignment though, because it was so much nicer than other resorts and hotels/motels we passed on our travels to and from the park and Pigeon Forge. Definitely go to Mountainloft for a peaceful escape, just call ahead to check your unit assignment before the good ones are all booked up.

Room Tip: Buildings 9-11 are newer, but request 2nd floor or higher. Buildings 2-5 seemed to be more popular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TrvlngGrl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

After reading all of the reviews on the internet, I was very nervous about what to expect at MountainLoft. Upon checking in and checking out, we had a very courteous receptionist and we were never asked to attend a meeting about upgrading or anything like that. We stayed in building 10 on the 5th floor. I did notice that there were very thin walls because we could hear our "neighbors" talking and hear their tv. Since we were on the top floor, I can't speak of noise coming from above. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. I will say that I have very high standards and expectations on both of these aspects and I was happy with each of them. Although, the "faux balcony" was a little cheesy and disappointing. (Bars on the outside of a sliding glass door do not count as a balcony.) We did not visit the indoor pool, so I cannot attest to its condition. The landscaping was immaculate and beautifully decorated for fall. In all, I was scared to death after reading the reviews and maybe we just got lucky, but our experience was wonderful and I would definitely recommend and will most likely return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank georgiagirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We always enjoy MountainLoft and insist on the 2 BR cottages.
More space and nice deck space.
We have not and will not use the multiple units.
The 2 BR cottages provide privacy and nice mountain views.
The kitchen is adequate for breakfast and some dinners.
Just hope that the folks next door in the attached studio are not party animals.
MountainLoft beats the motel route, and we exchange through our exchange company

Room Tip: 2 br cottage on the ridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SavantIII_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatlinburg
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
2.4 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Smoky Mountain Resort
7.8 mi away
Laurel Crest
Laurel Crest
#45 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection

Address: 110 Mountainloft Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5355 (Formerly MountainLoft Resort)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $109 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, HotelPower, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Loft Resort, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainloft Resort Gatlinburg
Mountainloft Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Loft Resort Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing