We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Wi-Fi - Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gatlinburg
Ranked #53 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
canton, georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible Wi-Fi - Good Location”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I wasn't too happy with our stay. The main problem was the lack of internet. It was pouring down rain and there wasn't a lot to do. The room configuration makes it impossible for people in both beds to watch the tv. We had 4 laptops in the room. Someone said on Trip Advisor that they had good WIFI and it hooked up easliy. We had good service when we first got there and then it went out. Front desk didn't care. I quote " It is very good service, it's just hard to get on right now because too many people are using it." That was at 11:40 at night. In other words get up in the middle of the night and try to use the computer while everyone else is sleeping. We wanted to check our emails, check weather, check on local restaurant reviews, look at info on things in the area. We had little to no internet.

The room was small, but that was ok. The beds were not bad. The TV location was a problem. Viewing was a problem and it was difficult to get around it to go to the bathroom at night when it was dark.

The best thing about this hotel was the location . It's eay to walk to everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debcanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    278
    316
    220
    175
See reviews for
319
541
48
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

This hotel is a perfect base for a Gatlinburg getaway! Half a block from the main thoroughfare. Plenty of shopping and dining within easy walking distance. The parking is free, which is a nice treat for downtown Gatlinburg. The rooms are small, but that is expected with a Microtel. I enjoyed my stay so much I reserved a second trip before I left!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrw8981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We arrived late( after 10:30 pm) in Gatlinburg and just needed a place to sleep until we could check into our main hotel( the Park Vista, also reviewed) the next day. We didn't want to spend a small fortune to do this, so $39.99 sounded like a deal. First off, the lady working that evening could'nt have been any nicer. She even knew my name and was expecting us. The room was small, but as my title says, it's called Microtel and not megatel for a reason. The room was very clean and had no funky motel smell that would make you wonder what they are trying to cover up. Free wi fi hooked right up with no problem on my iPad. Slept soundly through the night and off we went. The location of this motel is very convenient to downtown Gatlinburg, so once you park the car, it can just stay parked. Not a luxury motel by far, but for a cheap place to sleep for the night, it can't be beat.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank vettex81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Microtel Inn Gatlinburg is a decent hotel for the price. I am used to staying in a Hampton Inn or Courtyard Marriott type of hotel, so upon booking this hotel for $40 on a Saturday night I immediately readjusted my expectations. Upon check-in, the man at the front desk was friendly and check-in was quick. His attire (not professional or uniform) took me off guard, but I got over it quickly. Our room (324) was clean. It looked just like the pictures on the website. There were a few signs of wear on the room, such as snagged carpet and a rough looking sink, but all of the bathroom facilities worked just fine. Towels were clean, but not plush and soft. Pillows were very flat, so bring your own if you don't like that. Room was tiny, but 32" flat screen TV was a nice perk! The best thing about this hotel is the location...you really can't beat it for the price! We did not have any disruptions from barking dogs or noise at night. We would stay again, knowing that this isn't any type of luxury accommodation, but rather a budget hotel that we don't plan on spending much time in anyway. If you are the type of person to spend a lot of time in your hotel room, then this might not be the place for you. Breakfast was fine for free - bagels, mini muffins, cereal, orange juice, coffee.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyK543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We were not happy with several things during our stay. They charge your credit card before you arrive. The lack of customer service at check in and check out was unreal. We got to our room to find the bathroom door being held open by a trash can. The towels were paper thin and the hand towels looked like the were used by previous guests.
There was a lot of mold in the bathroom and the entire room needed a good cleaning.
The continental breakfast was non existant for us. The room is so small we couldn't get to the food. There was no coffee made.
Security was a concern. The elevator started outside in the parking lot. No key was needed to gain access to the hallways.
The good points were the bed was comfortable and it had a nice tv and a good location.
For a few more dollars you can get a much nicer place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I paid $29 a night and it was very nice for the price. Right in the middle of Gatlinburg and is within walking distance of everything. The room was kind of small but it was big enough for my wife and i. The only complaint i had was that the internet wasnt working and they didnt seem to care. i would stay here again as long as the price was the same.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesB1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

If you are looking for a great value hotel with a great location, i don't think this hotel can be beat. It was actually the cheapest available stay in Gatlinburg when i booked it. Located in the center of the "strip" and directly across from the Convention Center. Everything is easily in walking distance ( and very near the free moonshine samples!!! very important). Just a short walk to the Sky Tram if you are looking to doing some skiing which was the main purpose of our trip. The rooms are....well...small... and that takes some getting used to just trying to move around the room. The bed was comfortable, and there is a small closet space and shelving and draws for storage, and a small work desk. The front desk staff was very nice. Didn't really need anything so i cant comment on the service. So if you want a good value hotel to crash at night that is in a great location this is the place. I would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekaplan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#22 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gatlinburg

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gatlinburg
Address: 211 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gatlinburg 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
Microtel Hotel Gatlinburg
Microtel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing