We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome house”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Owl's Nest Chalet

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Gatlinburg, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Harriet...
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome house”
Reviewed June 3, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
3
people found this review helpful

If you're not used to driving in the mountains a lot, the drive alone is pretty spectacular! The house is gorgeous, has everything you might need and felt like home instantly. Getting something from your car at night might not be the best of ideas (bear...). Laundry detergent would have been nice as would a manual for the hot tub (way too hot for us). Let's say (for our family of three) a 9.5 out of a 10!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickie H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent Mountain Getaway”
Reviewed May 18, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Awesome getaway!!!

Beautiful views, comfortable chalet, easy location, abundance of wildlife including black bears.. Highly recommended for family, friends ,couples etc.. You will not be disappointed.

Happy Trails

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Little Place with a Perfect Location”
Reviewed February 23, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
3
people found this review helpful

We had stayed here before and loved it so we decided to bring along some extended family this time. They loved it as well! Carol and Tim are super nice and easy to work with. The place has a great view while still being close enough to town. We had a great time and would recommend this place to anyone! Thank again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed October 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Amazing mountain view of the national park, the pictures on this website don't do it justice. Adorable house. Kitchen and main room well-decorated and updated. Bathrooms and bedrooms slightly dated but house is clean and has everything you need. There's even wifi and the TV can connect to Netflix, Hulu, Youtube etc.

Other pluses:
Hot tub is great, best place to start the day. Easy to use and instructions are available.

Good air conditioning.

There's a big stone fireplace in the main room.

Owners replied very quickly when we needed them.

Location was good, steep roads obviously but only minutes from Gatlinburg and extremely close to Ober Gatlinburg so you can park there and take the tram down into town. We even managed to grab one of the rare ubers in the area and the ride to town was less than $7!

The only downside is this was my third visit to Gatlinburg and I've still never seen a bear!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2017
Thanks for the great review. We own several cabins up here and are constantly updating them. The bathroom is on the list for renovation sometime in the future. We put a new deck and roof on the cabin this year. October is a transition time for bears up here. The acorns have fallen and they have started eating them instead of roaming around looking for unsecured trash cans. A bear can eat a lot of acorns in a day. As they clean out the acorns around the cabins, they move back into the park whee there is an almost endless supply. May through September is the prime bear season, but we see them up into December.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnn N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Renter”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay very much. The chalet was comfortable but was outdated and kitchen poorly stocked. Other than that beautiful area

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Thanks for your review. We are sorry that you didn't find the cabin to your liking. The cabin is over 50 years old and we try to keep it as updated as possible without destroying its original charm. We recently replaced the decks and the roof. The interior of the cabins was renovated 5 years ago and all of the floors and furniture were new at that time. We constantly update and replace items in all our cabins. We will reach out to you to see what we can do to improve the kitchen stocking.
Carol & Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We had a great three day weekend at owls nest everything was clean and tidy and our grandkids loved sitting on the deck and watching the trams go by. We would definitely stay again only next time a full week is in order!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful chalet with knock-out view of mountains from deck”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
5
people found this review helpful

This two bedroom chalet was very comfortable and spacious. We loved eating breakfast on the deck with the view of the mountains and enjoyed the hot tub as well. It was very clean, well-equipped and the owners communicated all details to us in a timely manner.

My only advice would be to not arrive for the first time at night. The ski mountain road up to this community is not for the faint of heart and getting into the driveway for the cabin (parallel to the road) is tricky, especially in the dark. Once you get used to it, it's fine. Just try to arrive for the first time during the daylight hours.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing