We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for families”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Deer Crest

view of the mountains from deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view of the mountains from deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
view of the mountains from deck
Front Door and Recliner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Gatlinburg, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
travelerm...
Grand Ledge, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spring Break”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Overall, this was a great cabin. The view was wonderful. We enjoyed having two bedrooms and the upstairs loft. It was a great place to relax. Being a little out of town has pluses and minuses. It is nice and quiet at the cabin, but we wound up spending more time in the car than we would have liked.
The reason I could not rate the cabin higher is because of the need for a good spring cleaning. The basic surfaces were clean, but when you look closer cleaning was needed. The window behind the bed in the master bedroom had mildew and lots of dust. We found some mouse evidence in the bottom cupboards and fly yuck on the mantel. Hopefully that will be taken care of before the next visitors arrive. With a deep cleaning, I would recommend it.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We loved our time spent at Deer Crest in Gatlinburg. The cabin had everything we needed. There was a fully stocked kitchen with nice plates, glasses, cups and silverware. The view of the deck is beautiful. The gas grill was great. We grilled out several meals. The bedrooms were just the right size. Enough room in the upstairs one for our 5 year old and 1 year old to stay (plenty of room to put her pack 'n play). The beds are so comfortable!! Great having 2 bathrooms. Nice to have cable tv and fast Internet access. At the most we were 15 minutes away from Gatlinburg. We enjoyed hiking at the Smoky Mountain entrance near the cabin (Greenbrier). The pool table was fun and our son loved playing the board game Sorry you had there. We would recommend this cabin to all our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view off the deck.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaknowl...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a perfect getaway”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My boyfriend and I were in the states from England and found this cabin just before I left in September. We were not expecting it to be as amazing as it was. We had a teenie bit of trouble getting into the cabin initially, the code wouldn't work but ny boyfriend slightly lifted the door once the new code had been entered and it worked, door is just slightly stuck is all.
The cabin itself was immaculate, it was so cute and cosy and exactly what we wanted. The view from the balcony was just incredible and my boyfriend could literally not get in the hot tub quick enough!! The bed in the downstairs room was the most comfy bed we've ever stayed in, it really was like we were sleeping on a cloud, best 2 nights sleep. When combined with just getting out of the hot tub be wary you will fall asleep soo soo fast.
The cabin itself was so well equipped with everything you needed, coffee packs were there upon arrival.
The best thing we did on our last night was stay in the hot tub for a few hours with the radio playing, we cooked dinner and go straight back in it. We even quite liked that there were neighbours and it wasn't as secluded as we initially thought it may be.

It really was a place we'll never forget and really made the end of our 10day trip, we would recommend this to anyone and without a doubt would come back.
Thanks again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flipstrip...
Independence, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just needs a good cleaning”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
6
people found this review helpful

The cabin is located in a nice quiet spot up a windy hill and only about 15 minutes to the grocery store/ gas. The view off the back deck lets you know you are in the hills of east Tennessee- very nice! Overall the cabin met our needs. The cabin had plenty of space for our group of 4, but if you have a large group- you won't be able to find a space large enough to gather together in one room. The surprising thing is that the cabin was dirty. You could write your name on the kitchen appliances- wouldn't dare turn on the ceiling fan because we could see a cattails thick layer of dust on top. Your in the woods, so you should expect a bug or two, but there are spider webs and dead bugs throughout the basement. And be sure to bring your own ice- no ice maker or even ice trays. Cabin has great potential- they just need a better cleaning/mangement crew.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: dirtiness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey K
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly a Home Away from Home”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I decided months ago that we wanted to take a trip to the Smoky Mountains. I got online and was incredibly lucky to stumble across this cabin! The cabin was very cozy/comfortable from the moment you walked in the door. (P.S. No check in required. They email you with a passcode to the front door, so it was very easy) Cute decor. Great kitchen with new appliances and everything you need too cook. They have a charcoal grill outside which we took full advantage of. So many great things to say about this place.. Crazy comfortable king size bed on the first floor, hot tub, fireplace, pool table (although not regulation size, but still fun), and board games available. For girls with thick hair like me, the water pressure in both showers was fantastic. Close proximity to everything...10 minutes to downtown Gatlinburg, 10 minutes to Climbworks where we zip lined, 25-30 to Smoky Mountain Outdoors where we white water rafted, and about 15 to the National park entrance. Couldn't say enough great things about this cabin! Hopefully, we will back again sometime soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A
Ottumwa, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HEAVENLY”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Deer Crest was a perfect get-away , clean, spacious, well stocked, and everything we wouldn't have wished for.....Peggy and crew were excellent to work with renting this cabin...views were outstanding and so private and cozy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being able to get in the cabin without check in
Liked least: everything was excellent....very happy with all
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesspyle3...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Looks exactly like the pictures!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had another couple go with us and we all loved it! We didn't feel cramped. The view of the mountain was great! The cabin was well decorated with just the right amount of decor. You are close to 2 other cabins but we really couldn't hear them. About 15 mins from Gatlinburg. We will definitely be back!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing