We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun and great view!”

Hogg's Upstairs Taverne
Ranked #85 of 196 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Rockmart, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great fun and great view!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Bartender was a hottie. Great location in the heart of Gatlinburg. Thumbs up for Tiff and Jess. Great company, great atmosphere. Check out the booty shakin' contest! Yum!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    53
    28
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst bar ever”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I don't have high standards when it comes to bars, but this place went way below those low standards. We walked in and it wasn't very busy...there were about 6 or 7 people sitting around the bar, all seemed to have drinks. We took a seat at the bar and waited. And waited...and waited. Not once did the lady behind the bar say hi or she would be right with us or even make eye contact. We decided to move to a table near the window so we could people watch while we waited. My boyfriend went to the bar to get our drinks..he wanted a beer and I was going to get the signature "hillbilly hammer" even though I had no idea what was in it. I would have loved to have asked the bartender, but she wouldn't talk to me. He stood right in front of the lady for another 10-15 minutes. When she finally took his order, she started to make my drink, then stop, started pouring his beer, then stop and she went to the bathroom. He said she saw her wash her hands at least when she came back...but then she went and waited on another person and then went and chatted with her boyfriend before finally coming back to finish pouring my drink and his beer. Horrible. I drank my hillbilly hammer, which tasted like a mixture of peach snapps and whiskey, and he started on his large beer. I started to think it wasn't too bad since the beer was a nice size and my drink was kinda strong even if not really my thing, but then I realized that what I thought was condensation forming on the inside of his mug was actually just dirty scum! So gross! I've never seen something like that before...I've seen pieces of lettuce that has gotten stuck on a glass from a washing machine, but never have I seen actual scum formed on the inside of a beer glass. I could actually scratch my nail in it. Ugh! I have read on other reviews that they actually serve food here, but I could only imagine you would eat the food at this place is you were hoping to catch a fun case of e. coli. I stopped by the bathroom before heading back down to the street and there was a hole around the base of the toilet that I was pretty sure I was going to fall through. They tried to hide it with a rubber floor mat. So in the end, we had horrible service, horrible drinks and a horrible restroom.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank newsbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fostoria, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The setting is ok but the staff here are rude. In all my life I have never been treated so poorly! I would never go here again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ohio
Level Contributor
238 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“What a Joke”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

HORRIBLE service...........the bartender also happened to be the MANAGER and it took 1 hour for a hamburger to come and we had to physically walk up to the bar everytime to order a drink! I guess they think they are in Downtown Gatlinburg and they can do as they please. The "Bartender Manager" was also very short with us.........totally unacceptable. SORRY Honey.....but WE are the Customers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyed sitting on the balcony.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The day we were there, it was a warm day. So we went there to get a cold beer. We drank our beer on the balcony. Which we enjoyed. It was nice to sit and rest a bit. Plus do a little people watching. As for the bar-it's just a bar. The ladies restroom was clean but in very bad shape. I was afraid the toilet was going to fall through the floor!!! In my opinion, I think this bar gets its business from the locals and tourist stop in because it's in the middle of town. With its location, it's a bar to go in to just sit a spell and have a drink.

Helpful?
Thank AlabamaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hogg's Upstairs Taverne also viewed

 

Been to Hogg's Upstairs Taverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing