We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for our first night”

Calhoun's Gatlinburg
Ranked #26 of 195 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Calhoun's is a local, fresh, casual dining establishment specializing in hickory smoked BBQ, hand-cut steaks and seafood, and fresh ground hamburgers. We offer something for every taste. We also have a kids menu, and free parking with receipt. Eat Local, Eat Good!
ohio
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good choice for our first night”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We came here for dinner for our first night in town and was happy. The service was nice and friendly. I had their ribs and they were good. I wouldn't say the best but I don't really care for the smokey tasting ribs and I like a sweeter sauce. The bread they bring is awesome! Loved the corn bread! My kids had Mac and cheese and it was good. Small portion but yummy. My husband had the trout and he never had it before and he said it was good. I would def put this on the list if you want BBQ

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nmeoct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, General Manager at Calhoun's Gatlinburg, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for visiting! All of our bread is made from scratch...and delicious! We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,507
    842
    396
    114
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metamora, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good ribs and good service”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This restaurant had a good selection of menu items, but they specialize in BBQ Ribs. Good flavor and very fast service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fritz3760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, General Manager at Calhoun's Gatlinburg, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you! We never get tired of giving our guests a taste of Tennessee food and hospitality! We'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Waiter!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I visited this restaurant on a weekend getaway to Gatlinburg and the man at the front desk of my hotel recommended this restaurant, and i'm glad he did! Our waiter, Jesh is amazing. He is energetic, thoughtful, understanding, and fun. Even though he was very busy with a lot of tables, he made time to talk to each table and provide outstanding coustomer service. Our meals were great as well. Overall, this was one of the best restaurants I've been to in a while!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank reviewer9229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, General Manager at Calhoun's Gatlinburg, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. We try to hire the best people possible to work with. I am glad you enjoyed their company!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, GA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant for family or business”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had an appetizer and a few drinks. Both were very good and reasonable. We enjoyed the bar - the bartenders actually hustled - a refreshing scene from some bartenders who do not know what the work means! The service was fast. A relaxing and enjoyable experience. We will definitely come back when we return to Gatlinburg. P.S. the restrooms were very clean.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blogger21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, General Manager at Calhoun's Gatlinburg, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you! We will let the bartenders know how much you enjoyed your visit with them. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Barbeque”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Had been to this restaurant 2 years ago and it is still just as good now. We ordered the baby back ribs which were very meaty, the brisket which had a smoke ring that you could see throughout the slices and was very tasty. Our sides of mac and cheese (very cheesy) and baked beans were seasoned with sut the right amount of bacon. It is nice to know that a chain like Calhoun's serving barbeque continues to keep its' quality and standards up even after two years. Too bad there are not any of this chain up here in Illinois.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank allecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, General Manager at Calhoun's Gatlinburg, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. (The hickory smoked brisket is my favorite) We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calhoun's Gatlinburg also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Calhoun's Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing