We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time in Calhouns” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calhoun's Gatlinburg

Calhoun's Gatlinburg
Ranked #21 of 195 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Calhoun's is a local, fresh, casual dining establishment specializing in hickory smoked BBQ, hand-cut steaks and seafood, and fresh ground hamburgers. We offer something for every taste. We also have a kids menu, and free parking with receipt. Eat Local, Eat Good!
Atlanta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First time in Calhouns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We listened to some local sources and tried Calhoun's for dinner. They had a reputation for attentive service and great ribs. I'm glad we gave them a try because they lived up to expectations on both counts. While my filet was cooked a little more than I requested, it was so tasty that I didn't care. The wife gave the ribs a big thumbs up. An interesting corn pudding side was flavorful and fluffy. We wanted to try their strawberry shortcake, but it was so popular that they had run out. Their location on the Parkway near the entrace to the Park is very convenient and you get free parking in the lot with your recipt.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmyers6670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,398
    798
    372
    109
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Got right in,only a five minute wait on a Sat. night. Waitress was very friendly and helpful.Food was delicious! Would go back again...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vickisiedler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Ale steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The atmosphere was good, the restaurant was clean and the staff was friendly. Everyone in my party ordered the 'Ale sirloin' steak and the flavor was mouth-watering. I had found out they have a special curing process, and with the mashed potatoes and broccoli, the meal was fabulous. Everyone in my party loved the steak. Would go again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good service - Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

There are lots of restaurants at this end of Gatlinburg. Calhouns was the right choice for us that night. Our waiter was very helpful and kept us entertained with humor and a few sample of items were were asking about. We go to Gatlinburg about once a year and always go to Calhouns.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rayman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia sc
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great dinner out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We chose Calhoun's because it was recommended to us by a friend. We were not disappointed. My husband raved about about the mountain trout special he had. He is a salt water fish guy and had never had trout. I had the ribs and they had a really nice smoke ring and pulled from the bone like a real smoked rib should.

When we got there there was a wait, but it was less than they stated. The restaurant has a nice casual atmosphere, very enjoyable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank magjek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calhoun's Gatlinburg also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Calhoun's Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing