We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”

Calhoun's Gatlinburg
Ranked #21 of 195 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Calhoun's is a local, fresh, casual dining establishment specializing in hickory smoked BBQ, hand-cut steaks and seafood, and fresh ground hamburgers. We offer something for every taste. We also have a kids menu, and free parking with receipt. Eat Local, Eat Good!
dayton, oh
Level Contributor
146 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The service was very good and meal was excellent with a pleasant atmosphere. We would highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,427
    818
    379
    111
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queretaro
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Steak and ribs...yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our group of 20 stopped for lunch at Calhouns and were very pleased with it! From the burgers to the Ale Steak to the rack of ribs...everything was cooked perfectly and very flavorful. The service was extremely friendly and efficient. When I made a special request of the bartender (kimmy) for a sangrita (spicy tomato juice based chaser) for my tequila...eventhough she had never heard of it, with some simple instructions she was able to whip up a truly delicious batch...going above in beyond with the service and having top quality food is what brings me back to a place over and over. The Ale Steak was awesome as were the award winning ribs...for the sides, I highly recommend the spinach!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MexRazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Rain Martini and Good Eats!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Calhoun's is known for its BBQ but when we visited I tried something different. Started with a Cucumber Rain Martini which was made with organic cucumber lime Vodka, cucumber fresh lime juice, sugar, fresh mint and basil. It was fantastic and so refreshing! I ordered the Turkey Creek Salad with strawberries, cranberries, feta cheese, honey pecans and dressed with honey balsamic. Delicious! Of course the rest of my party tried the Hickory Smoked BBQ plate, paired with dark ale, said it was great! Good eats here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank camfva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

quick and good service by Luis. Food was fairly priced. pulled pork was a smidge under done. fried fish sandwich was hot and tasty. the fries were hot and good. drinks were kept filled. two ate for under $25 including a 20% tip.

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marianna, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I had the filet mignon and it was wonderful. My husband and granddaughter had the combo platter with ribs, chicken tenders and pulled pork. They were also very pleased. The staff was very attentive and personable. We will certainly go again when we are visiting Gatlinburg.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calhoun's Gatlinburg also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Calhoun's Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing