We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute spot, but why #1 in Gatlinburg?”

The Village Cafe & Creamery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: A Café and Creamery featuring specialty drinks - Hot & Cold / coffee / sodas. Hand Dipped Ice Cream, Milkshakes, Malts, Old Fashion Sodas, Fresh Baked Soft Pretzels, Pizza Nachos, Slushies, Smoothies, Floats, SnoCones, Affogato, Cappuccinos, Frappes and Lattes, Spiced Cider (seasonal).
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Cute spot, but why #1 in Gatlinburg?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stopped here based on the rating and enjoyed it but weren't especially impressed. The location is tucked away and charming and the one server on duty that night was very gracious. Price was on the high side $3.99 for regular scoop plus $.75 for a waffle cone or waffle bowl. Several of us ordered cookie dough and did like it. But the selection wasn't large and there are so many places to choose from in the immediate area that I don't see a reason to return here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MN_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher-Angela, Owner at The Village Cafe & Creamery, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting our little shop based on our Tripadviser rating. We are the only mom and pop shop in Gatlinburg that sells ice cream. The 18 flavors of ice cream that we carry seem like alot to us but we do understand that compared to those "Big Franchises" it probably isn't. We are so sorry that you see no reason to return to our shop and you cannot understand why we are rated #1 by our customers on Tripadviser, but by your own admission; our shop was Charming, our customer service Excellant, and our ice cream Delicious. Maybe when you visit the other places you will understand...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    15
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We walked a while on the strip in Gatlinburg to find this ice cream shop. We passed at least 10 ice cream stores, and my friend said "this ice cream shop better be good." We were not disappointed by the Village Cafe and Creamery. It's in a European looking shopping area so it has a vintage look to it.
The worker was very helpful and hospitable. He recommended the O'Charley's carmel pie ice cream, and I must say, I have never had that flavor in any other ice cream shop before.
We sat out on their front porch and listened to 2 country musicians so it was very peaceful, and the atmosphere was nice.
In the end, my friend ordered ice cream and coffee, both of which he said was awesome, and agreed it was worth the walk to find this shop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jarrett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher-Angela, Owner at The Village Cafe & Creamery, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you so much for understanding what we are, " A Mom and Pop Shop," Not a Franchise...
It means a lot to us that your journey here was worth the walk . We look forward to seeing you the next time your here...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We've come here twice in one trip. Wonderful ice cream and coffee. A little over priced but worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashknauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher-Angela, Owner at The Village Cafe & Creamery, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for visiting our little shop. We appreciate your kind review, and look forward to seeing you soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We looked for this solely on the basis that it had a great TripAdvisor rating. It did not disappoint!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher-Angela, Owner at The Village Cafe & Creamery, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We take great pride in our products that we sell here and it means so much to us when we provide a positive experiance for our guests...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice little shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

This place should not be overlooked as it is tucked away in The Village. The owner is very nice and sold us (my wife) on the orange smoothie. Let's just say he was right when he said it was the best you could have in the area. It tasted even better than an orange push up pop. We've come in here all 3 times we've been to Gatlinburg and we will continue to. Keep up the good work!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Corey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher-Angela, Owner at The Village Cafe & Creamery, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are glad that you agree with us that our Smoothies are "The Best" in Gatlinburg.
Thank you so much for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you next time!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Cafe & Creamery also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to The Village Cafe & Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing