We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best.....”

The Best Italian on the Parkway
Ranked #62 of 195 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average at best.....”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were enticed into this restaurant with the thought of trying a "New York Style" pizza. We were sat, ordered drinks and the garlic rolls. The waitress came back with the drinks and I asked how a New York style pizza actually differed from others. She said a true New York Style was a thin crust, but their's was a thicker crust that most people "down here" are used to. So that shot that... We ordered a pizza anyway since we were there and that is what we got. A non-descript, slightly overpriced pizza that could have been from any dozen local pizza dives around town.

That being said, there garlic rolls were decent, the waitress never let the glasses get empty, and the place seemed clean enough.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    175
    138
    73
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, needs to pick up on the service”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stopped here late on a Saturday night during the busy spring break season and was pleasantly surprised at the food portions (huge) and quality (very good). The garlic rolls are just that-garlic with some rolls thrown in. Too strong for my taste. I ordered the pasta with marinara sauce and you could tell the pasta was fresh made. It was nice that the meal came with a salad and the rolls.
I did not mind the price-after eating often in tourist towns, I thought it was quite in line with what I have paid in other locations (Myrtle Beach, Orlando)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneT121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the food but water a rip-off”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Every year we visit Gatlinburg and eat at Best Italian. It was our favorite restauant as the garlic rolls, pizza, spaghetti and salad are delicious. We were never disappointed. However this last visit, we were each charged $1 for water. (I do not believe the charge was listed on the menu) It was such a rip-off that the experience was ruined for us. Too bad as we probably will not eat there again. It just did not seem right and their explanation for the charge did not "hold water".

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbbIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Check it out!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for a late lunch and it was very good! The food portions were huge. Well worth the price. Our service was very good. I'm originally from New York State and it seemed like these were authentic Italians that owned and ran the restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wursty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food! Good service!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The restaurant was quite busy, but the service was excellent. The food was wonderful! They have another location in Gatlinburg also. Highly recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NanaBev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Best Italian on the Parkway also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to The Best Italian on the Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing