We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time at the Fox & Parrot Tavern for Weary Travelers”

The Fox & Parrot Tavern
Ranked #66 of 195 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Time at the Fox & Parrot Tavern for Weary Travelers”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were driving around and I love eating at places you dont see back in your own home town. This was a great place to stop and eat. The food was great, the portions were big and prices were reasonable. The beer list was big, with no weak beer allowed on the list. The owner and his staff were friendly and fun to talk too. If I were a local, I would be a regular.

I had some family members in my group who where handicapped. My 81 year old grandfather, and my mother with her bad repaired knee were given the Handicapped treatment. It was great that they were so accommodating. Plus the hot waitress was a plus too ;)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    120
    39
    24
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Pub out from town”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've noticed this pub on the Glades Rd near the Arts & Crafts Community just outside Gatlinburg. We stopped at the Bristish Pub on New Years Day and found it to be very busy. There are signs in the pub that tells you that all meals are made to order and it takes time to prepare. They have alls kinds of British beers and some American, also. It does take time but the food is worth the wait. Delicious. Great atmosphere and friendly people.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Probably a new tradition...”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were planning on eating at the health food store/cafe in Gatlinburg, but they had been so busy, they ran out of food. They recommended this place. Let me set this up. Gravel drive with ruts from rain water. Gravel parking lot slowly being taken over by grass. Step around to the back of the van and almost step in a pile of horse manure. Crunching through the gravel, walk by a mangy looking siberian husky on a chain. On the first landing is a shop and a sign from the restaurant out front declaring:

"NO BURGERS"
"NO PIZZA"
"NO CRAP ON TAP"

Up the second flight of stairs and we enter the restaurant. To the left a wood stove, couch and loveseat - upon which a cat is resting and entertaining patrons. Not a matching table chair or table cloth (where available) in the place. Pub theme artwork adorning the walls. TV of course. Small bar in the back that would seat maybe 10 if they had enough stools.

When we sat down - all tables were full. No hostess, seat yourself where available. Sat for probably 10 minutes before being acknowledged by the waitress who apolgized profusely in her foreign accent. Asked the couple beside us that had drinks already how long they had been waiting - 20 minutes. Other customers were also waiting. Turns out it was busier than normal and they were overwhelmed. But instead of just making the patrons wait and wonder, the owner would come out ever so often make a joke and explain the situation. "Where were you all last week when I had 2 customers?" At one point, an obvious regular yelled back "Shut up and get in the hell back into the kitchen and cook some food!"

Really wasn't any worse, time wise that a popular restaurant under the same circumstances. All the food is freshly made from fresh ingredients. Limited, authentic, menu. Fish and Chips, Shepherds Pie, Bubble and Squeek (corn beef and cabbage with potatoes), bangers and mash, rueben sandwich, etc. Fresh cut "chips". Food was excellent, as was the feeling of sitting in someone's house. Upon leaving each group or guest was wished a "Happy New Year!" at the prompting of the owner/chef - customers and staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank room121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fun evening!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a great time and good food and drinks! Everyone was very friendly and welcoming. We played darts and enjoyed meeting the neighborhood service dog. I see some mixed reviews, so please know that this is not a fancy restaurant, it is a family pub. Food is made fresh when you arrive, so may take a few minutes. We brought in a large group and service was efficient. The cook checked several times with us to ask if our food was good. We had a wonderful time and look forward to our next visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilda123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“uncomfortable”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Ate there several years back on my Honeymoon and while the place was decent looking and the food just okay, we were made to feel like we were imposing. We were completely ignored and it seemed that tourists were not welcome and we had stumbled into a locals only place. It was very awkward. I've never been to a pub where you were made to feel so unwelcome.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox & Parrot Tavern also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to The Fox & Parrot Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing