We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!!!”
Review of Chalet Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Village
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!!!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

cardinal ridge was beautiful and perfect in every way. We are already planning a trip back to stay in the same place. We didn't want to leave!!! The beds were super comfy and the view was out of this world! There was plenty if space for everyone and lots to do. I have stayed in many cabins and chalets and have never stayed in one that was so clean! I didn't see one single bug. The staff was extremely friendly upon check in and the rates were very affordable!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    73
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
209
153
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I and our two young adult sons stayed at the 1804 Timberwinds in Chalet Village in Gatlinburg, Tennessee over Christmas. The two-bedroom cabin is the perfect size for four people. There are basically two master suites, which allows for plenty of room and privacy. With TVs in both bedrooms and the livingroom, the boys could stay up all night watching movies and we could get up as early as we wanted and no one was bothered. The cabin is very clean and in great shape. The kitchen has everything you need. We all loved the hot tub with great views of the mountains and Gatlinburg.
The weather ranged from sunshine to rain to snow while we were there. The hot tub is covered so, if the weather would not let us get outside, we always had the hot tub to go to. There is a trail up the hill from the cabin that is part of the Smoky Mountain National Park. This is a great perk if you like hiking or just walking in the park. You can walk all you want and never have to drive anywhere.
The biggest disadvantage to 1804 Timberwinds is the driveway - it is nearly straight up with not much of a flat area to park at the top. We slipped a little going up on the wet pavement. The road getting to the chalet takes some getting used to. It is narrow and steep as are most roads in Chalet Village. That is just the cost of getting to a beautiful remote cabin. We had a four-wheel drive so did not have much problem, but had there been snow or ice on the roads, I would have wished I had some chains and even then I do not know if we could have driven if we had to. One big disappointment was the gas grill. The website stated a gas and charcoal grill was available. However, the gas grill did not work. When we called maintenence, the person was very nice but said he had tried to work on the grill before, but it was completely worn out and would not light. He said they tried to get the owner to replace it, but they had not done it yet. We took food to grill every day, so I had to go back down the mountain to town to buy charcoal to use in the small, plain charcoal grill. The surround sound in the cabin and a portable jam box also did not work.
Those problems were minor and did not really take away from this great chalet. The area was very quiet and we hardley saw anyone else. We saw some wildlife but, unfortunately, no bears. Perhaps they were in hibernation.
1804 Timberwinds is a great chalet and reasonably priced. It is not fancy, but is really all you need and more. The staff at Chalet Village was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ltdan_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I just got back from staying at Destiny for 3 nights and were given a very fair rate. The house itself is among the nicest rentals in Gatlinburg, with a security system, astonishing views, outdoor hot tub and 2 indoor jacuzzis, and the furnishings are both stylish and comfortable. The house does not have wi-fi, per the owner's request, according to the rental company, so be prepared to take your laptop with you to the Starbucks down on the strip if you need to check your email. Also, both of the bedrooms, while lavishly appointed, are down a flight of 17 stairs, as is the washer and dryer. I just thought it should be made aware to those who may have mobility issues; it was hard on my husband who is recovering from knee surgery and had to find different chairs and couches on the main level for sleeping on, after struggling with the stairs the first night. If this is not an issue and the lack of wi-fi is also not a problem, then Destiny will be perfect for those of you in this group.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank prestonjack41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We love staying in Chalet Village! This was a last minute Thanksgiving idea and one of the very last chalets left for good reason. I was extremely disappointed. The pull out sofa couch had a hole with stuffing coming out literally and the maintenance man told me the owner knew about it and hadnt even bothered to have it replaced or mended. Missing blinds,no curtain on front entrance door leaving you exposed,broken blinds,romote controls not working,etc... I guess I learned a valuable lesson on planning ahead. All our other chalets have been awesome. We will definately be back but not ever to this chalet.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank vicky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My mom, sister and I stayed in #866 Leconte's Misty Glow (I think)....we had a great time. Chalet Village is the only rental agency that we use, and with good reason. The homes are always clean, & if there is an issue it's always handled promptly and professionally.
We love staying in their homes! Thanks for doing such an awesome job~~

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deluxe-rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Out of the 5 cabins/chalets in which I have stayed, this one has the most spectacular view. More importantly, it is designed to allow the occupants to see outside from almost every corner of the place. My retired pilot husband estimates we could see 40 miles to the north/northeast. Due to all these windows, the house was never dark or dim - even when we were socked in with fog or snow. From the decks, one can see the Ober Gatlinburg Tram through the trees, but well below the level of the chalet. The home is 3 levels, with the hot tub on the bottom level deck, protected above by the upper deck. At that level is a room with a pool table & futon, full bathroom, and laundry room with a full size washer and dryer. The level of the main entrance has a sunken living room, dining room, kitchen, half-bath, & guest room with full bath. Top level is the room with the jacuzzi tub/sauna, master bedroom and bath (loft-style). The drive up is steep, and the driveway off of the cul-de-sac does slope down toward the house. But it is short, and our 6 cylinder rental handled it on the wet leaves & snow with some finessing. We arrived to weather in the 70's, then had 2 days of dense fog, followed by 2 days of snow related to Hurricane Sandy, and then temps in the 40's to 60's. The house stayed warm with no drafts. The chalet is not new, but the kitchen is updated and the carpet is new. The master bath has plenty of counter space, and a linen closet with plenty of shelves. Lots of drawer space. We did cook out on the grill before the weather changed, and saw two bears wander below from the hot tub that very night. Fortunately, the decks cannot be reached by anything on the ground. We stayed a week, and left only because someone had already reserved it well ahead of me. This is definitely a good spot for a longer stay, and the view is worth every penny. And as usual, dealing with Chalet Village Properties was as effortless this year as it has been every time we have stayed. As we "shopped for" other rentals on the mountain, I only made note of the ones that were offered by Chalet Village. Hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: The higher up the mountain, the trickier the drive. And if you are near the top of the mountain, re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nfla-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

It was amazing trip. 8 nights with lots to do and relax. The drive up the mountain to the cabin was scary at first but you get used to it. Cabin was very clean and decorated very nice. Loved the views from all the rooms. Pool table was great. The hot tub outside with the views are amazing. Our first day a big bear and three cubs walked right by the cabin and down the drive. Don't get any better then that.. The cabin was well equipped. Washer dry is nice we didn't use it but nice to have. We had our honeymoon in Gatlinburg and then for our 10th anniversary . This was our 20th anniversary and our third trip. Love the place so much will be back sooner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
1.7 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
4.6 mi away
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
1.6 mi away
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Village

Property: Chalet Village
Address: 1441 Wiley Oakley Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Village 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 1 to 8 bedroom cabins and chalets. Chalet Village has been family owned and operated since 1972 offering location and quality accommodations second to none. Our cabins are adjacent to Gatlinburg, The National park, & Pigeon Forge. We offer year round access & the perfect cabins & chalets for any vacation stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Chalet Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Village Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing