We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel at quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel at quiet location”
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We were at this hotel during the weekend when Gatlinburg was at the busiest. The hotel is located a short walking distance from the main street so the hordes of tourists did not affect our night sleep.
The rooms are nice, nothing fancy, but sufficient. We did have a nice jacuzzi in the room. The pool is a bit smaller than what is seems in the photo. The hotel has free parking.
Overall very good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmirArnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    120
    51
    14
    15
See reviews for
114
113
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flora, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed at this hotel June 14-18 in a king room. Check in went smoothly and the clerk was friendly. The room smelled fresh when we entered and was clean. I walked around barefoot or in white socks with no "blackfoot" happening. The bed was VERY firm, but the sheets and pillow covers were thick and soft. The a/c unit cooled the room quickly, even in the 90+ temps with high humidity. The wifi was simple to connect to and the speed was fine for our use. We only used the pool further from the office. It was a bit small, but the water was a comfortable temperature and clean enough. I saw the levels being checked in the mornings. It never smelled super-chlorinated like many hotel pools do. Our room was the closest to the pool and we heard very little of the kid-noise that pools generate. It was a short, easy walk to the back entrance of the Village or to stop light #6.

All in all, I would easily stay here again. The price was a very good value for the room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gena_and_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

I loved the hotel because it was close to the Parkway, and easy walking distance for most attractions in Gatlinburg. The hotel had basic amenities, but the room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the staff was friendly. I like having a fridge and microwave in the room so I can store and reheat leftovers. My daughter played in the pool almost daily....it was small, but clean.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hunnybeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon Forge, TN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

If you want to just park the car and not worry about getting caught in traffic, this is the place for you.

We always enjoy staying here. It reminds me of the travel lodges. Clean, cheap, and just the right amount of amenities.

Our plans include another week stay in Nov 2010.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank professor_computers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoschton, ga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We travel often to Gatlinburg and were surprised to find a place for this low price with so many positive reviews. We were pleasantly surprised to find a very clean room with fridge and microwave. The hotel is in an extremely quiet area within walking distance to downtown. The housekeeping staff was very helpful, and the gentleman at the desk is the kindest man. We were called away the last day of our stay due to a death and the desk clerk was so helpful . He even refunded the remainder of our stay which is definitely a first for any place I've ever stayed. We will definitely make this our stay in Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mountnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

I have stayed here before and enjoyed it very much. Clean, comfortable and affordable, but this time was not so. We got the room by the pool which was very noisy, which isnt the hotels fault, but the upkeep of the room is. It was not very clean, there was mold around the drain overflow and the corners of the tiled floor were filthy. One of the pillows had a stain on it and the covers smelled. I do have to say the worst thing was the loud ringing, whiring noise comming from behind the staircase. When I arrived I didn't think it would be a big problem but it runs all night and it was difficult to sleep.
I doubt I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Inslady44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dickson tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

stayed here to go to the Bristol race so we could avoid the jacked up rates at other hotels. we thought the place looked dated when we first pulled up, and was a little skeptical. but after seeing the room ,was well pleased. carpet was not stained or dirty, bathroom was clean , bed sheets were clean. a fridge, microwave, coffee pot, iron, and hair dryer. all you need. very close to the main strip. and 2 pools.after reading the negative reviews i think those people rated the wrong place. we will stay here every time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrfan88and3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Property: Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Address: 247 Newton Ln, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3537 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Hotel Downtown
Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing