We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Ranked #28 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Roebuck, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there our first trip to gatlinburg! We loved it! Clean rooms, friendly people and perfect location! We will definitely come back and stay here again. Short walk to all of the attractions downtown! Staff was very friendly and comfy beds were waiting at the end of the night! Definitely will stay here anytime we are in town!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephietallent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    125
    53
    15
    14
See reviews for
122
116
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here twice now (would've been 3 times, but we missed the office being open by 30 minutes last year because it was the down-season (mid-January)). It's by far our favorite place to stay in Gatlinburg. Nice, clean, big rooms that back up to a creek. You can open your bathroom window and hear the water.
The staff is very kind and accommodating. When calling for a reservation, they actually asked if we had a preferred room. Who does that now-a-days?
It's easy to walk to all the shops and restaurants on the main strip from the Mountain House.
We love it. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I just spent 3 nights. The room was clean. The staff was not only friendly but also helpful. They recommended places to eat that were off of the tourist radar. The location is about a 5 minute walk from downtown Gatlinburg. No reason to move your car for the entire stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conordog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed 3 nights only because we had prepaid through travelocity. The room was clean but definitely in need of an overhaul. The bathroom was smaller than a broom closet and needed repairs. The shower head was set less that 2 feet above the faucets so we had to stoop over to rinse. The toilet is so close to the door that you have to practically step over the toilet to get into the bathroom. Shower curtain way to small for the tub so the floor flooded every time we showered which I am sure was the cause of the mildew in the bathroom. Would have left after the first night had we not prepaid. I understand that this property is very old but that does not excuse neglect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Expected more from a motel with a pretty good rating... Dirty bed comforter, tiny sink/bathroom area, toilet ran on, toilet not secured to floor, tub didn't drain, bathroom door only opened halfway. They even lost my reservation. Nice TV was about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

for the price this is a rate of 5 out of 5. Stayed 9/12-9/15. Don't be put off by it being a motor lodge. Seems that is what most, if not all (even the major chains) are motor lodge style. Though I didn't see anything specifically stating it was remodeled but you could tell it had new bedding, new carpeting, etc. (I was in room 209) While it is not right on the strip it is easy walking distance to everything-especially the village which is a lovely shopping area downtown. If breakfast is important - it is not included but you are close to the pancake pantry & a donut shop both at the village.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plnashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I am writing this review completely based on our experience, no influence from other reviews. The location is excellent for those who want to experience the shops, attractions and restaurants in downtown Gatlinburg. The hotel is about 1.5 blocks from the main strip - Ripley's Aquarium is right across the street once you get the Parkway. The decor and and bath fixtures are dated, but everything was clean and worked properly. there was always hot water available when showering. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The air conditioner kept the room nice and cool; my husband would say it was cold (I think that's the best sleeping temperature). The staff was courteous. We did not spend a lot of time in our room. We were there for sleeping and getting ready to hike or walk the parkway, but it was always quiet. We are looking forward to staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
564 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Property: Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Address: 247 Newton Ln, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3537 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Hotel Downtown
Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing