We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Ranked #28 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Price and Location”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I am writing this review completely based on our experience, no influence from other reviews. The location is excellent for those who want to experience the shops, attractions and restaurants in downtown Gatlinburg. The hotel is about 1.5 blocks from the main strip - Ripley's Aquarium is right across the street once you get the Parkway. The decor and and bath fixtures are dated, but everything was clean and worked properly. there was always hot water available when showering. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The air conditioner kept the room nice and cool; my husband would say it was cold (I think that's the best sleeping temperature). The staff was courteous. We did not spend a lot of time in our room. We were there for sleeping and getting ready to hike or walk the parkway, but it was always quiet. We are looking forward to staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    125
    53
    15
    14
See reviews for
122
116
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed one night, first of all they didn't have our reservation. The room had bugs in the floor, hair on the bedding, makeup on the towels. The bed was horrible , very hard mattress with stains all over the side of it ! Stayed at many hotels in Gatlinburg and this is the worst. Staff was very unfriendly as well. Will never book with them again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank thelmasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed A total of four nights and we love this hotel.Very clean the beds are most comfortable and the staff will bend over backwards to help you in any way they can.Great location about two blocks from the Village.Our family has been coming to Gatlinburg for several years.There is no reason to look at any other hotels we found our home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Clean needs updating. Good value for the price rooms are large. Decor is a bit outdated. Good for the price. I will stay here again if I need a clean comfortable room for a bargain basement price. This was my first stay here within walking distance to town

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darkhelmet37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, Kentucky, United States
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you are looking for a 3 or 4 star hotel this is not the place for you but the location is great since it is only about 2 blocks from the intersection by Ripley's Aquarium and the Village Shops.
It is an older hotel with small bathrooms but the room has all you need to spend a few nights
in Downtown Gatlinburg at a good price. It is an American family run hotel and the total for
3 nights was only $228 in peak season.

Room Tip: Some of the newer rooms have larger bathrooms if you ask for one of them but they are farther away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Murvil An Lucia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radcliff, Kentucky, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Mountain House. The location was just off light 6 and easy to get to all the major attractions, but still out of the way enough to be peaceful. I needed a dowstairs room for my husband, who was on crutches. They happily gave us a downstairs room. The room was more than what we'd hoped! The beds were firm but not hard/the room was clean and everything worked! There was a small fridge, microwave and coffpot. The decor was modern but not busy. We sat on the porch in the evenings and relaxed. My husband loved the pool. The staff was really friendly and helpful. It's American-owned. We loved our stay! It was a little bit of heaven.

Room Tip: I called ahead to let them know I needed a room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at Mountain House for the first time this past fall and it will not be my last time. It was very clean, the staff was very nice and welcomed us immediately; this place reminded of motels from my childhood. The location is perfect in that it is located near downtown yet the location is quiet--no hustle and bustle of the busy streets.

I was most impressed with the fact that we were not expected to settle our account until checkout!! Now that is something that is unheard of today and once again it reminded me of my childhood.

We will be staying at Mountain House Inn for many years to come!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conversebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
564 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Property: Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Address: 247 Newton Ln, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3537 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Hotel Downtown
Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing