We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Off the main street” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Richardson, TX
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Off the main street”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

The best thing about Mountain House is the location - near enough to walk to anything on the main street - but back a few blocks so you miss the noise. The owners/staff were unfailingly helpful and kind. The room was clean and a good, average motel room. No breakfast provided, but the price is low and restaurants in walking distance are plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B-and-B-Explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    116
    46
    14
    14
See reviews for
109
106
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We used TripAdvisor to find this hotel and the reviews seemed really good (and the price was right). My wife and I, plus our 4 and 5 year old kids stayed 3 nights here. The location was good - we could walk to the main strip. Also very close to 'The Village' which is a nice shopping area with fountains and live music in the evening. The room was clean. It had a very small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Bathroom was fine. Pillows were flat. We used our 4 towels the first night. The next day after housekeeping had been in, they left only 2 towels. Called front desk and it took them 45 minutes to bring more towels. There is a small stream out front and we saw 8 baby ducks with the mom that our kids loved. Overall it's ok but there are other hotels nearby that I'll try next time.

Room Tip: Refrigerator is small and front desk isn't always available right away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Redhawks94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, right off the main drag in the center of town. Older hotel, but clean. Friendly staff. Would stay here again. 

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2007st1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I decided on this hotel because we wanted to find something near town, but not loud. We were well pleased. The price was the lowest we could find for a room with a balcony. We had a private balcony right over the creek and the owners allow you to smoke on the balconies or anywhere outside. This was exceptionally great as every other hotel I contacted said they didn't allow smoking on the balconies. I don't smoke and don't want my husband smoking in the room, so I didn't want a "smoking room". I did however want him to be able to be confortable and not have to go a mile to a parking lot to smoke. The room was clean although outdated. The staff was terrific. Although the bathroom is very tiny, it was spotless and had great water pressure. I was also very pleased with how close it is to town. I am overweight and sometimes get winded, but I had no trouble walking back and forth to town. If you can't walk a lot, however, the trolley stops in front of the hotel. The one thing I did have a problem with is that the mattress was very uncomfortable probably because it was a little older. It was however, very clean as that is the first thing I check in a hotel. Also, the main pool between buildings was clean, but I noticed the one outside the office had not been cleaned yet maybe because it is still early in the season. All in all, I think I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you one of the balcony rooms near the office, it is very easy to take your luggage up. As there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grannygeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Gatlinburg. It's just a short walk to town. The staff is very friendly and helpful. No problems at all. You can park your vehcile in front of your room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed here several times a year for many years but has changed owner and took a major downturn. Service was very poor, room was dirty, tried to call the office to report a fight in the parking lot the first night and no one would answer the phone. Went to the office the next morning to report the events from the night before and was told I could leave without refund if I was not happy.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Fire15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is the best price in town. Great location, within walking distance of everything. The price is good. The owners are very nice and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfoolwithbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#27 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#19 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.7 mi away
Brookside Resort
Brookside Resort
#36 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Property: Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Address: 247 Newton Ln, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3537 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Hotel Downtown
Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing