We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sidney James Motor Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Ranked #52 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Close enough to the Gatlinburg strip where we could walk and push a stroller. Average hotel, outdated, but clean. Beautiful view from the balcony. Great swimming pools for children. Very reasonably priced and offer coupons for even better deals.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
Thank careywilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

785 - 791 of 933 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2009

We recently stayed at the Sidney James for 3 nights. The rooms, while not the most up to date, were clean and the staff was very helpful and nice. We choose here because of the indoor pool which is very nice. Having two kids that love to swim made this an easy choice. We have stayed in some of the fancier hotels on the strip and paid double the price and have not had as good a time. It all depends on how much time/value you put on staying in your room. It is a slight hike up from the main drag, but for 50 cents per person you can ride the trolley which stops right in front! We really enjoyed our stay .It was quiet and again the pool was a big hit! They also have a cafe where you can get a great all-you-can-eat breakfast for less than $10 and no waiting in long lines!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amosAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

The Sidney James was a clean and comfortable place to stay. Although certainly not luxurious, our room had everything we needed. We stayed in a creekside room with two double beds, which was all that was avaialble by the time I made my reservation. I was a bit surprised that the balconey was so small, but I thought the price was very reasonable. The bathroom was also quite small, but was adequate. I would stay here again. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Do be aware that this hotel is a bit of a trek away from the main drag. The walk is doable, but not extremely convenient. Also, there is a trolley stop nearby.
All in all, a great value.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mk2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

enjoy the creek, the staff is great, they try to help you all they can, nice area close yet away from town, clean,

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arremony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

The owner of this hotel is on the premises and manages the operation. The room was very clean with a balcony hanging directly over a mountain stream. The staff (which was plentiful) was very courteous and extremely helpful. The location is great and very near the park. There is a small restaurant on site that has great food. We took our grandson who especially liked the indoor "cave" pool. The rates were reasonable and we will definitely lodge there on our next trip to Gatlinburg............The Tuell Family

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuck2l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We absolutely loved this plce. The room was fabulous and the staff was wonderful as well. Thanks again Joe and Trish for all the help. You guys are the best!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank defrockinbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

This was the best place I have ever stayed, me and the family had broken down in this sweet town and the people at sidney james was so nice to us and help us during our stay that they went out of there way to help. They was super..... From now on Im staying at sidney james...also if you are staying ask them about the owl nest...It a house right on the creek and it is so sweet......Thanks sidney james mike cunningham and family

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macon2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#68 of 77 in Gatlinburg
72 reviews
1 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#69 of 77 in Gatlinburg
480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chalet Inn
Chalet Inn
#50 of 77 in Gatlinburg
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney James Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Address: 610 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3343
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $61 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sidney James Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sidney James Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidney James Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Sidney James Mountain Gatlinburg
Sidney James Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing