We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again at the Sidney James!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Ranked #52 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed August 7, 2009

This place is terrible. We arrived at the hotel at 3PM, and was given an inferior room across the street at their older motel. The room was very small, the A/C was extremely noisy and didn't work properly. The bathroom was clean, but the showerhead was the pits. You couldn't get a decent shower at all. Although the water pressure was great, the showerehead put out the bearest amount of water possible. Parking was very cramped at this hotel, and the walk to the main street was very, very long. The check-in and check-out staff were very rude, and not very helpful. Complimentary breakfast was not provided. I would not recommmend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missy8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 934 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2009

This was the 3rd time that my family and I stayed here. We had a double on the creek side. The room was ready and very clean when we got there. Weekend Staff and house keeping both were nice. Free WiFi access near the lobby. A great little pool side cafe with good food and good prices (a very yummy breakfast).
My kids loved the indoor pool with the walk through cave.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Most families will be drawn to this hotel for the indoor pool. But, parents beware. The floor around the pool is very, very slippery and areas of the pool are in bad condition. The outdoor pool is much better, but of course it is just a pool. Doesn't have the extras the indoor pool has. The staff should also clean up and replenish the towels more often too. Every time I went for a quick swim there were never any clean towels.
The room I stayed in was in need of remodeling also. The TV was at least 20 yrs old and the childrens TV channels shown on the Channel guide were not viewable; probably because the TV channels won't go that high. The balcony on the creekside room was one reason this hotel was chosen, but unfortunately there wasn't anything to sit on and enjoy the view.
I guess the rates for this hotel are considered low for the area, but I think I would prefer to spend a little more money to get something a little more safe for the kids and more up to date in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djsKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

It is a older hotel BUT it was clean!!! I was VERY pleased with it!!! All hotels are OLD after they are stayed in a few times!!! The rates are GREAT!!!! I was really scared after reading the reviews BUT I was very happy with it. Our room DID NOT SMELL!! We stayed creekside.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatlinburgky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

My family and I stayed at the Hotel for intially 5 nights. We got to the hotel on the Wednesday and it was empty, come Friday though the place was packed! Even with all the people the hotel was quiet enough to enjoy nights of relaxing TV. The walk to the main strip was maybe 15mins tops and you were right at the Ripley's museum. Perfect location, nice clean rooms.
If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place to stay. If you are looking for a nice clean room and a GREAT pool and hot tub... stay here. We were in a creekside room and the view was so nice a relaxing....
We will stay at the same location again, infact we ended up booking another night it was so nice..... The only downfall was there is no internet in the rooms...

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVERYTHINGISTAKEN71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We stayed on the courtside.The only good thing about this place was the location and the indoor pool!The rooms smelled like smoke and The first room we were in had a leaky toilette which flooded onto the carpet by the bed.Luckly they did give us a new room with a more comforterable bed but this room also smelled like smoke and the carpet was icky.I will not stay in this lodge again.I also had some relitives staying on the creekside and they were also dissapointed and said that their room smelled bad as well!The hot water was also a dangerous temp both my sons burned their hands in the tub and shower .My husband and myself also had to be careful when using the hot water because it was too hot.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mobilemama19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

• I had booked a honeymoon suite at the Sydney James Mountain lodge through XXXXXX. We were to have stayed there from 10/9 thru 10/12. I paid the cost of the room at the time of the reservation on 9/26. The lodge advertised a honeymoon suite with king size bed, Jacuzzi, fireplace and a balcony overlooking a creek. When we arrived, on 10/9, the person at the desk said that the only room he had left with a king size bed was a two bedroom suite. We checked in and went to the room. It was nothing like what we thought we had reserved. It was a filthy two bedroom apartment. The carpet was dirty and stained. The furniture was dirty, stained and had holes in it. The linoleum in the kitchen was damaged. The bedroom that we looked in had a king size bed that was probably there when they built the lodge. There was no closet for clothes, only a pole hung on the bedroom wall. There was a fireplace which had a gas line protruding from and then running down the wall to the fireplace. It had a loose hose clamp just hanging from the pipe. There was no balcony and no creek. The overall appearance was run down, dirty, smelly and appeared that someone had been living there. There was some sort of machine running that caused the floor to vibrate loudly. We immediately went down and told the person at the desk the problems that we had with the room and that we would not stay in a room in that condition. He said he would not speak to us and that we would have to take it up with XXXXXXX. I then went outside a called XXXXXXX on my cell phone. I explained the situation to them and they put me on hold. When they returned to the phone, they said they had spoken to the hotel and that the manager was gone for the day. I asked them what they were going to do and they said they would contact the manager the following day and get back to me. I did not hear from them the next day so I called them on 10/11. They informed me that they were sorry but the manager insisted that I pay for one night. I told them that I was not willing to pay for a room that was not as described or even habitable. Again they said they were sorry but that it was the hotel manager’s decision. I asked them why it was his decision when I had paid them. All I got was more apologies. After I returned from my trip, I received an E-mail from XXXXXX asking me to rate the lodge I had booked through them. XXXXXX apologizes for the situation but they claim they cannot issue me a credit for the balance because the hotel manager will not allow it. The hotel would not speak to me yet they supposedly made the decision. As far as alternate lodging we were forced to look for other lodging at the last minute and were only able to stay for two days instead of four for which we paid twice the amount we had paid to XXXXXXX. Because we could not find local lodging for longer than two nights we were forced to cut out stay short. I would not let my pet stay at this lodge. What a honeymoon we had.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegashusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#68 of 77 in Gatlinburg
72 reviews
1 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#69 of 77 in Gatlinburg
480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chalet Inn
Chalet Inn
#50 of 77 in Gatlinburg
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney James Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Address: 610 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3343
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $61 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sidney James Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sidney James Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidney James Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Sidney James Mountain Gatlinburg
Sidney James Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing