We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Ranked #52 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Du Quoin, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience.”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

It was a great place to stay. Staff was courtious and friendly. Views are awesome. It is a little bit off the strip but perfect for us with a new baby (croud noises). The place is a little outdated, but sometimes thats not a bad thing. The top floor has high ceiling with fan, sorry no pics. Would definately stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: 4th floor has the high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    236
    173
    104
    197
See reviews for
349
280
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

To get the best rooms I would book at least two weeks in advance from either Expedia or Priceline. If you use Expedia click the room for a queen size room unless they are busy usually they will put you on the "good" side of the hotel :D If you use Priceline then make sure you do not click any of the rooms that say "courtside" as they are not the best rooms and it is better to pay the few extra dollars for the nicer rooms. They do have an amazing pool area that has a waterfall and Jacuzzi that looks like you are in a cave and the pool goes to a shallow end that curves around with a cave like feel; they also have a separate kiddy pool for the little ones. If you do not like pools or the Jacuzzi they have a sauna room. There are two pools one inside which I think is nicer and an outside one that is not covered and is a standard pool.

Room Tip: Go for the Creekside or Club level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Pretty good value for the money. Location a bit away from the main street of Gatlinburg, the fitness room more like a closet and the WiFi connection really poor, but apart from those, I found the place to be OK.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannuVantaalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here in mid summer as part of a huge Mopar group. My room was on the first floor, creekside. Everything in the room functioned normaly, and I had a balcony overlooking the creek. All the car club members were able to gather in the parking lot, and swap stories, party till wee hours of the morning, etc. There are several restaurants that deliver right to your door, so no need to drive anywhere if you don't want to. The onsite cafe has excellent food also. The staff was very friendly. I'll be staying here again this summer for the car meet. Can't wait!!

Room Tip: Creekside is the way to go, loved the sound of the rushing water right outside my door, and even bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

It's an okay hotel. Nothing fancy and clearly a dated hotel. That said, they've done some improvements in recent years like adding flat panel TVs. Our room was clean both times we stayed here. The room overlooked a nice creek as well.

One big downside is that there's an abandoned hotel next door to this hotel. Obviously out of their control, but it's a major eyesore.

The big plus of staying here is we didn't have to worry about parking anywhere in Gatlinburg while we stayed here. You're close enough to downtown to be able to go to anywhere in the downtown area on foot.

There's nicer hotels around but if you're looking for something with new frills and save on a room, this a place to consider.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank colinlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

we took a family trip for the weekend to Gatlinburg and a friend had mention this motel due to the indoor pool. My little boy and nephew love to swim and the pictures looked great. I must say the indoor pool area was great and is exactly as it looks on the website. The room on the other hand was a let down. We stayed on the creek side because my wife wanted to look at something other than cars. Great view except the sliding door was broke and then we went to get a towel an it had been hung up and was dirty on the other side. The next thing is the TV was a new flat screen but the remote would not work at all and the TV was stuck on one channel. The front desk came over and tried to fix it but advised us it would be the next day before we have TV bad deal with a 4 year old and 10 year old in the room. The beds were ok and we had paid for a rollaway. DO NOT!!!!!!!!! get a rollaway it is just a lawn chair cushion on the metal frame and you will hurt after this sleep. It ended up snowing which was very beautiful except there was a group of thirty you group kids crawling on top of peoples cars to get snow. The last night was hell kids were running up and down the doorways banging on doors called the office and the response was it was a church group and they were just being kids and not much they could do. next morning as we are leaving I let the front desk know what had happened and got a oh well not even a sorry....... So next time ill pay more and book somewhere else with an indoor pool and if you read this review you may want to as well and last thing parking is hell at this place the back lot by the rooms is very very tight if you drive a f150 supercrew or above like I do be prepared to park away from your room

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne, Fl
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Cherokee for a few days then decided to travel to Gatlinburg for a day or so. We drove around looking for a nice place to stay that was off the main strip. We found this place and it looked nice on the outside, and it had a creek under the balcony. He went in to get us a room and the lobby was very nice. We were excited we had found a nice place. We were charged extra for a creek view room, understandable seeing as it was a nice place. When we got into our room we were very disapointed! We shuold not have spent as much as we did for this place. it was more of a $30 hotel, not a $60 room. First off the front door stuck to the floor and we had to push really hard for it to open. The bottom of the door was dragging the floor. It went down hill from here... The room smelled very musky, it was freezing and it took well over 3 hours for the room to heat up. The walls were blue but had white ding marks everwhere. The back door was no better, all of the windows were some way or another cracked and air was coming through. We had an end room that had a little sitting area, that was nice. The shower could really hurt soomeone. The hot water is exactly that. HOT be careful!! My husband actually scalded his back. BUGS! HOLY BUGS! Live, dead lady bugs everywhere!! When we went to make coffee there was a spider crawling on the table. Very little lighting. If you are a smoker be sure to bring your own ashtray as the balcony does not have one. The bed was rock hard. You will have to get dressed out side of the bathroom because there is little to no room. Very disapointed in this place! Will not stay here again and I will be telling everyone I know to avoid this place when they come.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else! You can get a great price somewhere else other than here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SparkLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#67 of 78 in Gatlinburg
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney James Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Property: Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Address: 610 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3343
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sidney James Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Sidney James Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidney James Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Sidney James Mountain Gatlinburg
Sidney James Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing