We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My family honeymoon.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Ranked #59 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    228
    171
    100
    194
See reviews for
336
269
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I've visited The Smoky Mountains over thirty times in my life. My family and I come at least once or twice a year, and have we have stayed at all sorts of places--i.e. hotel/motel rooms, campsites, timeshares, gorgeous mountain chalets with all the amenities, etc. We enjoy trying new places. It's part of the fun of vacation for us.

That being said, I decided to take my husband and kids to check out the Sydney James Hotel during our last visit to Gatlinburg (June 2011). I'd vacationed there as a teenager in the mid-to-late eighties, and had enjoyed the cool pool, as well as the creekside view. I was hoping it would be a nice place to stay the next time we ventured to Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge.

We went to the front desk and asked if we could see a room. They said they hadn't finished cleaning the rooms yet, and directed us to the indoor pool area to wait.

In a word--YUCK! The pics of the pool we'd seen on the internet must have been from when they first put the pool in* (circa 1987-ish). It didn't look like it had been cleaned since then, literally. The water was murky at best, there was brown film on the sides of the pool, and garbage (candy wrappers, cans, cigarette butts, etc) was strewn all around.

Also, the pool area was very dark and dank. I remembered it as being kinda cozy and inviting, but now seemed scary and gross, even in the middle of the day. The idea of the "grotto" is great, but due to the lack of upkeep, it kinda reminded me of stories I've heard about the Playboy Mansion's Grotto--ICKY! I would NOT let my children go near that water.

I was ready to leave then, but the guy from the front desk showed up and said there was a clean room available to see, so we proceeded to it.

The room was TRASHED--it had not been cleaned. To add insult to injury, the carpets were filthy, we saw a roach, and the entire room smelled foul. Plus, the "balony" was tiny--barely enough room for 4 people to stand, much less sit. Also the creekside "view" was horrible--a rundown, vacant hotel on the other side of the creek, and more trash lining the creekbed.

The guy giving the tour apologized for showing us the wrong (uncleaned) room, and offered to take us to a clean room. I declined.

The only quasi-good thing I can say about Sydney James is that the gentleman showing us around the grounds seemed genuinely embarassed by the state of the hotel, and was very apologetic.

It's really sad that this hotel has fallen into such disrepair. Although the balcony was small, I could've overlooked that if everything else (maintainence-wise) was up to par. Unfortunately, it just isn't.

I think this hotel lures people in with the very out-dated pics of the pool and the creek view. I doubt seriously if they have much in the way of repeat business.

I'm glad I didn't book a room here before seeing it firsthand--it would've ruined my family's whole trip. Do yourself a favor and find another place. You couldn't pay me to stay here now. This is, BY FAR, the worst hotel I've ever seen in Gatlinburg--hands down.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I was just there this past weekend. The staff was really helpful. Didn't have any problems with them being rude or anything. The only complaint that I have is that the tv had a line through it. Will go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babyconder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence
1 review
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Other than the fact that this hotel is in great need of updating. Over all it was clean and the staff was courteous. Disappointed that our room was across the street from the indoor pool. Overall the stay was nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My group went to and stayed at the Sidney James Mountain Lodge for the Jaycees Conference. I must say we were pleasantly surprised at how nice this little hotel was and how nice and knowledgeable the staff was. I particularly enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub area after our meetings were over. The place was clean and well maintained. We had an excellent conference because of the Sidney James Mountain Lodge and The Sevier County Jaycees!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fireman10161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

stayed on the courtside - bathroom had hairs that i had to wash off my self before the kids got in the shower. The pool was nice, kids enjoyed. The people at front desk are friendly. However some of the other guests were loud and had no consideration for others. Made so much noise, slammed doors, yelled at each other, wistled at 1-2 in the morning. The room had a small fridge, coffee maker but no microwave? The water in the shower went from cold to extreme hot and then cold again. We got what we paid for- that's for sure!

Room Tip: Do not stay courtyard side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tita39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed on the courtyard side, because we had our Boston Terrier with us. Our stay is right after the New Year and there weren't many people about.
Definitely the older part of the hotel. The AC/Heat was so loud we couldn't even hear the television. The hot water was brownish when first turned on and the beds were like The Flintstones beds. Hard as rocks. No dressing area for privacy and what really surprised us was there was a mini fridge and coffee maker,.... but no microwave. Go figure.
The front door looked as it is a left over from the 70's and should really have been replaced. The bathroom was freezing (although had its own fan/heater) and is in a different room from the sink and dressing table.....which is in full view of the rest of the room (no privacy).
Free wi-fi, but extremely slow.
On the upside, it was quiet and our room didn't smell - although it was a smoking room and we are non-smokers. The towels were sufficient and the shower was adequate. The staff was extremely nice and friendly and very helpful when we had a couple of problems with our card keys.
We are thinking the rooms creekside are much better rooms and prove to provide a much better stay. However, pets aren't allowed on that side, understandably.
Overall, it just seemed run down and in need of upgrading.

Room Tip: If you aren't travelling with a pet, stay Creekside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkscales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.1 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#44 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
1.0 mi away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#66 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney James Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Property: Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Address: 610 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3343
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sidney James Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Sidney James Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidney James Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Sidney James Mountain Gatlinburg
Sidney James Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing