We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, Excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Ranked #54 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My group went to and stayed at the Sidney James Mountain Lodge for the Jaycees Conference. I must say we were pleasantly surprised at how nice this little hotel was and how nice and knowledgeable the staff was. I particularly enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub area after our meetings were over. The place was clean and well maintained. We had an excellent conference because of the Sidney James Mountain Lodge and The Sevier County Jaycees!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fireman10161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 935 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

stayed on the courtside - bathroom had hairs that i had to wash off my self before the kids got in the shower. The pool was nice, kids enjoyed. The people at front desk are friendly. However some of the other guests were loud and had no consideration for others. Made so much noise, slammed doors, yelled at each other, wistled at 1-2 in the morning. The room had a small fridge, coffee maker but no microwave? The water in the shower went from cold to extreme hot and then cold again. We got what we paid for- that's for sure!

Room Tip: Do not stay courtyard side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tita39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed on the courtyard side, because we had our Boston Terrier with us. Our stay is right after the New Year and there weren't many people about.
Definitely the older part of the hotel. The AC/Heat was so loud we couldn't even hear the television. The hot water was brownish when first turned on and the beds were like The Flintstones beds. Hard as rocks. No dressing area for privacy and what really surprised us was there was a mini fridge and coffee maker,.... but no microwave. Go figure.
The front door looked as it is a left over from the 70's and should really have been replaced. The bathroom was freezing (although had its own fan/heater) and is in a different room from the sink and dressing table.....which is in full view of the rest of the room (no privacy).
Free wi-fi, but extremely slow.
On the upside, it was quiet and our room didn't smell - although it was a smoking room and we are non-smokers. The towels were sufficient and the shower was adequate. The staff was extremely nice and friendly and very helpful when we had a couple of problems with our card keys.
We are thinking the rooms creekside are much better rooms and prove to provide a much better stay. However, pets aren't allowed on that side, understandably.
Overall, it just seemed run down and in need of upgrading.

Room Tip: If you aren't travelling with a pet, stay Creekside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lkscales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We have stayed at the Sidney James every spring for the past several years. The motel is older but it provides adequate lodging and is well away from the hectic commercial strip - yet close enough for a healthy walk. The staff and employees are friendly folks, do a fairly good job of maintaining the property, and are always helpful. The room rates are reasonable, all factors considered. The onsite food availability is limited - and if the hotel is very busy the one-person kitchen staff often gets overwhelmed. There are many food options not far from the motel however. The Sidney James is reliable lodging and we hope to return every year!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bvroman1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We were a bit hesitant to stay here due to some of the other reviews, but I am glad we did. The price was right and the room was comfortable. Beds were fine, rooms very clean and no musty smell. We brought our own blankets and candles (for the smell) but didn't need to use them. The shower was a bit old, but I have seen worse. Water pressure was fine and the water heated up quickly. The room is a bit drafty, but the heater is strong and not very loud, so it stayed on. Tv a bit out of date, but worked fine. The indoor pool was nice and they provide towels at the pool. The hot tub was warm. We had a little problem with the room key, but we got it working after some jiggling.

The staff at the front desk were great. Very friendly. We never saw the housekeeping staff but we had fresh towels and a made bed everyday. it is a bit of a walk to downtown. We did it one night but the other nights we drove. We were able to park for free where we ate so it wasn't too bad. If it wasn't cold it would have been an easier walk. Parking was fine, many spaces.

Overall, I would recommend this motel to anyone who doesn't mind missing the frills but is looking for an inexpensive, clean motel with a pool near downtown Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

When we walked into the room, there was a horrible mold smell! My husband and daughter who are both allergic to fleas kept getting bit! We went to go swimming in the pool, we had to leave because there was a large group of about 40 people swimming and standing around and drinking and smoking and the front desk did not do anything about it until at 11 when the pool closed. The beds are hard as a rock. I came home with bags under my eyes and a sore back due to the beds and not being able to sleep. The remote batteries died and the front staff said we would have to wait until the next morning when maintenance was there because he did not have any batteries. There is no microwave and the rooms are very small and outdated! The doors have cracks so cold air comes in. There is no counter space. The rooms are dirty. I had to wash my coffee pot before using due to it not being clean. There was some dog food left in a corner and dust behind the tv. We will never stay here again! It was a waste of money!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lachelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I have stayed at the Sidney James many times while over in Gatlinburg, and each time it never fails to please. It is ideally located on a side street in downtown Gatlinburg, and is directly located on the trolley route. We typically stay Creekside and the rooms we have had were all equipt with a fridge, vaulted ceilings, private balcony over-looking the creek, and one had a fire place. It is definitely an older hotel and that shines through on some aspects. But everything considered, I definitely think this hotel is great considering their rates. One downside: each time we've been there the pool has been pretty chilly and the waterfall in the pool area doesn't work; not even kind of a big deal, but that's the worst thing we could find. Will definitely stay at the Sidney James again

Room Tip: I would recommend the creekside rooms; have been told the rooms across the street aren't as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawndeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#68 of 78 in Gatlinburg
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#37 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,045 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Summit of Gatlinburg
The Summit of Gatlinburg
#48 of 78 in Gatlinburg
183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
#47 of 78 in Gatlinburg
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney James Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney James Mountain Lodge

Address: 610 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3343
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $64 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sidney James Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Sidney James Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidney James Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Sidney James Mountain Gatlinburg
Sidney James Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing