We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical Hampton, but still OK.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“Not your typical Hampton, but still OK.”
Reviewed June 7, 2010

My wife and i stayed here for 1 night. The room was smaller than most Hampton Inns and the Hotel is old. I paid extra for a balcony room over the stream and was disappointed because it had a lot of leaves on it and needed sweeping. However the room was clean and the bedding was comfortable, typical Hampton. We really liked the location, right at the end of the strip. The breakfast was good, the staff was friendly and helpful. I will probably stay here again because of the great location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank layellnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    369
    145
    66
    26
See reviews for
358
634
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We thought we'd like to stay in town, so we booked this Hampton. We were told that our room had a creekside balcony - wow! It also had a view of the street immediately adjacent and a construction site complete with port-a-johns. Passersby always looked into the room as they walked by. The room was shabby, the bathroom was marginally clean, and the desk clerk had no idea how to book a room for us in another city, and was frustrated that we even asked.
Next time we will stay at the Fairfield Inn.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jrm84121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Me and my husband travel quite frequently both for business and leisure. Not only that, but I have been in the hospitality business myself for several years. What we found at this hotel, was definetly not up to a Hampton standard or any hotel standard unless you enjoy Red Roof Inns. When checking in, the front desk person was rude and inefficient, but being as tired as we were we didn't really give it much thought. But then we went to the room. And it was awful- there were ants on the floor, bed and nightstands, the room smelled funny and the AC was extremely loudand looked like it was from a couple of centuries back. We called the front desk to try and fix the problem and they told us they can give us some bug spray-really? But again, being as tired as we were, after driving 5 hours to get there, all we really wanted is to get a good night sleep. We decided to spend as little time as possible there, so we left in a rush and forgot my husband's jacket and the wallet along with it. Hours later we discovered that a $20 bill was missing and when addressed to the manager, he shrugged and said he will give us a call back, but we never heard from him. Make your own conclusions here. Hopefully they will go through the renovations they mentioned to us, because they really need it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank thetraveler_101809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

After spending a week in a Gatlinburg cabin, we were all packed up and ready to go. A last minute decision to stay one more day had me calling the Hampton at around 8AM on a Saturday morning. Ivan was tending the front desk, and quickly quoted a rate for a creek-side room that was acceptable. Our vehicle was fully packed with some perishable goods, and my request for an early check-in was quickly granted. The creek-side room was cleaned first, and we were unpacked and in the room by 10:30 AM. Check-in was a breeze, and Ivan asked if we had dinner plans, offering coupons to nearby restaurants. Very friendly, very accommodating attitude without gushing or overly fussing. This young man has a bright future in the hospitality business if that is his plan.

While this hotel is older and the rooms are not large, there was enough room for 2 large bags, two smaller bags, two small coolers, some hanging cloths, numerous tote bags, and a big plastic carry-all for items needed for the cabin. The room was clean, with plenty of soft towels.

The beds at this Hampton live up to the reputation with which we've become familiar. The sounds of the creek from the balcony cover the traffic noise in town, so sitting out there is pleasant. The A/C worked great. Plenty of hot water. TV wasn't some giant flat screen, but it had a good picture. Made use of the business center in the lobby. Didn't bother with the next day's breakfast, but it looked pretty good. If I wasn't in such a hurry to get on with the drive, I would have partaken.

But the best thing about this hotel is the service. I get up early, like 4AM. So I called down to the desk to ask if there was coffee. (The room had it's supply, but I leave that for my wife). The clerk asked which strength I liked, and said it would be ready in 15 minutes. When I got to the lobby for coffee, I told him that we had run out of toothpaste and mouthwash, so he fixed that problem mere seconds.

By the time we checked out, Ivan was back in the lobby greeting folks and making sure everything was going well with breakfast. He inquired as to how are stay went, and wished us well in our travels.

This was our second stay with this hotel, and they've always gone out of their way to accommodate travelers. While it's not the Four Seasons, they sure make every effort to be just that.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawgcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville, ky
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

i have been to gatlinburg a lot over the years and this is the best hotel i have ever stayed at in gatlinburg. it has a really good apperance on the outside, everything is very clean. all the employees are very friendly they always say something to you when they see you. the maid did a great job our room was very clean. the beds were awesome, carpet looked brand new. we stayed in room 210 and our balcony was right on the creek it was so nice and relaxing. i loved listening to the water goin down the stream and there was even a couple ducks in there one day. we also could see the ober tram come in and leave our balcony was across from it. the room was a good size and bathroom was nice. parking was never a problem. we always had a spot and i loved being right on the parkway. hampton inn is at a great location, its on the parkway and walking distance to everything..i like it that its down from the big crowded area on the parkway. free breakfast was great!!! i didnt have one complaint with this place and i am very picky. i was 100% satisfied. didnt hear no noise at all. i have stayed in a bunch of hotels in gatlinburg and not saying any of the names of the hotels but they look like a dungeon and make you feel like your sleeping in a basement....but not hampton inn this place is it!!! i will never stay anywhere else in gatlinburg and i cant wait to come back. keep up the good work hampton inn!!!!!! :)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myrtlebeachl0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Clean beautiful room with a balcony, fireplace, jacuzzi. Right at the end of the strip - great for shopping access or a quick entrance into the park. Internet worked great. Breakfast was OK.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank caesardb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Stayed here for the first time. We usually stay at MidTown lodge, but decided to try Hampton because we stayed at the Hampton in Daytona and loved it. This motel has some age, just like everything in Gatlinburg, but has been kept up! The room was immaculate. We reserved a king with a fireplace, balcony overlooking the creek. Got a Jacuzzi and didn't even know we were getting one! We don't know if they upgraded us because they weren't busy, or if the website just forgot the jacuzzi.
We've stayed at 5 different Hamptons in the past year, and they always seem to deliver more than we expect. The hot breakfast is always good, and the cookies in the lobby are GREAT. It was handy to all the restaurants we go to, too. Walked everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaEmptynesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
341 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.2 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gatlinburg

Property: Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Address: 967 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#13 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gatlinburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing