We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel for a Gatlinburg Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel for a Gatlinburg Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is an older Hampton and it has a very high traffic/volume because it's in a tourist hot spot. My wife and I stayed just one night but had a very pleasant stay with no real complaints. The location is great (right on the main drag in Gatlinburg and pretty centrally located) Our room was very clean and on par with what we are used to in a Hampton Inn. We would/will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KY_IT_GUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    344
    136
    64
    22
See reviews for
327
593
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

This Hampton Inn is made old style (doors open to outside) but you have a balcony. I was worried the inside was going to be old as well but turned out to be a nice room. I love you can park the car and not move it until your really to leave the strip. Only negative was the breakfast lacked a little....This particular day there was no meat. Would I go back, yes, the location alone makes it worth the stay. I also had reserved a double but ended up not needing it, told the guy I would take a king if he had it. He said he had a queen for an additional charge...so I kept what I had, why would I pay more for one night stay, seems would have been easier for the cleaning people to clean up a room with one bed but guess not.. fine with me... I also need for housekeeping to check for hair all over the bathroom, there is a blow dryer in there so hair could be anywhere, I need that checked a little better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNChic615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights after planning a last minute trip. We were in room 208 - two double beds with a balcony over the creek. The room was a bit tight for four (2 adults, 19 year old, 14 year old), but we knew we weren't going to be in there much. The location is perfect and you can walk to most everything. The room had a small fridge, coffee maker and microwave. The bathroom was good sized and clean. There was a bit of street noise on the creek side, but it wasn't bad at all.

Wifi worked great while we were there. The hot tub was awesome after a day of hiking. Breakfast was your typical fare - donuts, muffins, fruit, sausage, scrambled eggs or omelets, potatoes. The lady who worked the breakfast did a great job keeping everything full and fairly fresh.

All the staff we dealt with were friendly and efficient from check in to check out. We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Room was clean but the beds (mattresses) are worn out extremely bouncy and no support. They didn't have two queen beds available, so we ended up with a queen and queen sofa pull-out. The covers for the sofa pull-out were nasty and sticky. We called and requested to have the same covers that were on the bed for the sofa bed for my kids but they just brought us another set of nasty, sticky velt like covers. Could've used more walking space.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here in July of 2014. When I booked the hotel through the Hampton Inn's website, I mentioned in the "Special Requests" section that we were celebrating our 30th anniversary. Even so, it was a nice surprise when we checked in to see a personalized "Happy Anniversary" welcome on the Hampton's sign out front. This stayed there throughout our whole stay. There were also two yummy cupcakes from Gigi's Cupcakes, compliments of the hotel, waiting for us in our room, which was a nice treat, and a pleasant surprise.

I didn't realize that this hotel had outdoor corridors until we got there, and at first I was a bit taken aback...the other Hampton Inns that I've stayed at all had indoor corridors. But I didn't feel unsafe, and parking was convenient.

We stayed in a room with a "creek-side" room with a king-size bed. There was also an overstuffed chair and an ottoman, as well as a fireplace in the corner. A microwave and mini-fridge were also in the room. The bed was comfortable, and there was a variety of pillow types on the bed, as well. The A/C worked well, and kicked on an off depending on what temperature it was set on. There were even extra electrical outlets built into the lamp bases next to each side of the bed, for phone chargers, etc. The only inconvenience that we noticed is that the space between the end of the bed and the desk is cramped. If someone is sitting at the desk, there is very little room for someone else to moved from the sitting area, past the bed and desk to the bathroom. Considering this is the major traffic way through the room, that was a bit of a pain.

The room had a small balcony that overlooked the creek that runs alongside the hotel. There were a couple of chairs on the balcony, and it was a nice place to sit and enjoy some fresh air and do a little people-watching.

The complimentary breakfast was dependable Hampton-Inn fare. There were scrambled eggs every morning, along with some type of sausage, and biscuits/gravy or breakfast potatoes. There were also "self-service waffles" which were very good. In addition, there were hot or cold cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, doughnuts and other breakfast breads, and more that I am probably forgetting. It's not gourmet, but you'll never go hungry, and it's convenient.

This hotel's location is one of the reasons I'm really glad we stayed here. It is at the south end of Gatlinburg, not very far from the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Especially on summer weekends, the traffic from Sevierville, to Pigeon Forge to Gatlinburg is bumper to bumper. And in Gatlinburg in particular, pedestrians are everywhere. By staying here, we did not have to contend with the traffic getting to and from the park.

There are numerous restaurants all within an easy walk from the hotel. We ate at the Cherokee Grill the first night we were there, which was just across the street, and at TGI Fridays another night, and it was on the same side of the street as the hotel, just a couple doors down. There is not shortage of good food close by, and thanks to the free wi-fi, you can look up the menus of most of the restaurants online and see what's available before you get there.

Our housekeeper, Linda, did a great job of keeping the room fresh and clean, and the staff at the front desk were also friendly and courteous. I was pleased with our choice, and would happily recommend this hotel to others staying in Gatlinburg.

Room Tip: I'd suggest a ground-level room, creek side, because the balconies overlook the creek, instead o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chackmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We love Hampton Inn's so that is really the only place we stay if we travel. We plan on coming back and will stay there again. The Hotel is clean, friendly, and really nice.I will be sure to let all my friends know about Hampton Inn for when they go to Gatlinburg

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 290jacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

After spending a few days in a local cabin, what a relief it was to pull up to the Hampton Inn in Gatlinburg. I don't know what traffic through town is like during other parts of the summer, but in July it is brutal. If for no other reason, pick the Hampton for this one.

We stayed here for our last night in the area and couldn't have made a better choice. This is not your typical Hampton Inn. Rooms are accessed via an outdoor walkway, not an interior corridor. You will get wet during a rain storm. We had a queen/queen room on the second floor. Although the room was a little on the small side, it made up for it with the balcony overlooking the roaring LeConte Creek.

Our room had a mini fridge, microwave and all the other typical Hampton amenities. It was clean and in good condition. We loved the balcony and the ability to spread our family out over more space. One small annoyance for us, was the smoker on another balcony and the smell that came our way.

The hotel is perfectly situated on the Gatlinburg strip. Perfect for ditching the car and walking. Parking in the lot was tight. There is a small parking garage and spaces around the hotel. I wouldn't want to be the last one to check in for the night.

Beware if you are in a room on the bottom floor. We stayed during a storm and water gathered outside the doors and was quite deep in places on that lower walkway. Your feet WILL get wet.

Free wifi was available, but we could only access from the balcony. No in room signal for our ipods/phones. Not sure why, could have been user error.

Breakfast was typical with the pleasant surprise of Krispie Kreme donuts.

Overall, I would choose to stay at this Hampton again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WishYouWereHere-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
0.1 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gatlinburg

Property: Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Address: 967 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#13 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing