We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View was amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This place has a great location and view. We splurged and got the view of the creek. We were on the first floor and it was amazing. The room not so much.

The hotel is an older hotel. Rooms are very smaller and the bath is tiny. Almost felt like I was on a cruise ship. The bathroom countertop was very dinky. The sink was in a corner and the countertop was almost non-existent. Plus this is one of the few Hampton properties that have the room doors that open to the parking lot. Not my favorite type of hotel. I like the security of the building being enclosed.

Parking was also a nightmare. The parking lot was very cramped and you had to have a pass from the front desk.

The breakfast in the morning was the usual fare for chain hotels. The breakfast area was very small also. As you can tell this town, space is a premium.

If you are looking for a place in the middle of all of the action, this is the place for you. The creek besides it is nice, but there is quite a bit of things going on. Foot & vehicle traffic is very busy. But the view of the creek can't be beat!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

941 - 947 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

I spend 100+ nights per year in hotels and typically find Hampton Inns to be a good value and very consistent.

All employees I encountered were friendly and professional. The property has recently been updated and looks well cared for and clean. Excellent location for all Gatlinburg activities.

Areas that fell short:
At $150.00+ per night; the most expensive Hampton Inn I've ever experienced!
TV reception was horrible! Channels take too long to load and/or signal is totally lost.
Free WIFI is completely unusable.
A couple mornings breakfast was not preparred well; kind of gross.
Seating in lobby and breakfast area is totally uncomfortable! Too low, too deep and broken down cushions offers not support to any adult size person.
Maids were hit or miss. Floor had visable food on it; was never vacuumed. Bath tub with visable hair and never wiped out?
Room window curtains are worng size/old and will not stay open. Needs tie backs or to be trimmed down.
Linens and pillows not to Hampton Inn standards.
I was on the first floor and there is considerable noise from the parking lot and neighbors rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bowman716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Gatlinburg, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize you were disappointed in the quality of our amenities and guestroom appointment. We will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience, and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you have come to expect as a valued guest of our family of hotels.

Thank you,
Sarah Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

If you are accustomed to Hampton Inn quality ... you will be disappointed. Rooms are very small, bathrooms are small and have outdated bathtub/showers. You can hear the traffic and pedestrian sounds very loudly if you end up on the first floor. The balcony view is another parking lot. The carpets had not been vacuumed from the previous tenant .. or if they were it was very poorly done. No interior corridors .. your door opens to a parking lot and you might have to park far from your room. The towels and pillows are not Hampton quality by far .. The workout room is small ... Slow internet. It is not awful .. it is just FAR from what you usually expect when you pay to stay in a Hampton ... Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not request a first floor room if you want peace and quiet ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventurerByNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Thhis hotel featured the friendliest people we encountered on our stay in Gatlinburg. They really understand the concept of Customer Service. It is close to so many things, most within walking distance, and hte room was outstanding. Woiuld recommend it to anyone wanting a nice get away to the Smokies

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Randall J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Gatlinburg. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the hotel staff. We had no advance reservation but by chance they had a vacancy. We were disappointed they had no rooms with creek side balconies available but we opted to stay anyway. Our room was spotless.The queen bed was the typical very clean, fresh and comfortable Hampton bed. Our balcony was ground level facing the parking garage. Not the greatest view but without advance reservations we accepted it. The outdoor heated pool and hot tub were well maintained. The complimentary hot breakfast had a large variety of delicious choices. The proximity of our room to the parking lot subjected us to the noises from cars and pedestrians passing outside our balcony. This disturbed our sleep to the point that we sent an on line complaint to the hotel management after we arrived back home. Our complaint was handled in a most professional and kind way by everyone associated with Hampton Inn. We received a 100% refund. This hotel offers every needed amenity including in room high speed internet. And the hotel staff couldn't be nicer. We give this hotel 5 stars in everything but the proximity to the parking lot of the room we were given. We travel to Gatlinburg annually. We will definitely stay at this hotel again but we will reserve early to get a more popular upper level room with a creek side balcony. Paul & Jenny Oct. 2013

Room Tip: This hotel is very popular and almost always full. Reserve early and ask for an upper level room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldretiredcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

very nice and clean and location was perfect.....maid service could of been a bit better.....did not pic l up dirty cups or garbage but overall enjoyed our stay....even had a bear cross the mail street right in front of hotel.....very exciting to us

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 60mary1890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, up to date quality mattresses, great location near the National Park Entrance and an easy walk into the shopping area of Gatlinburg. Many choices at breakfast. Free parking, free internet and great rates when booking online. I have stayed here several times over the years and it's alwYs been great.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Historic Nature Trail
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gatlinburg

Address: 967 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#13 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $127 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gatlinburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing